Search Shop
Zimmerman Named Finalist for 2011 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award

Zimmerman Named Finalist for 2011 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award

Oct. 19, 2011

OVERLAND PARK, KS – Ten NCAA® Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as finalists today for the 2011 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in collegiate football. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 candidates announced in August. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to determine the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on either the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award website or the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Facebook fan page through December 5. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I FBS head coaches’ votes to determine the winner.

Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award® winner during the 2011 football bowl season.

For more information on the finalists, visit

Football Bowl Subdivision Finalists Emmanuel Acho, Linebacker, Texas Jake Bequette, Defensive End, Arkansas Drew Butler, Punter, Georgia Kirk Cousins, Quarterback, Michigan State Austin Davis, Quarterback, Southern Mississippi John Dowd, Guard, Navy Chase Minnifield, Cornerback, Virginia Dan Persa, Quarterback, Northwestern Nate Potter, Offensive Tackle, Boise StateDawson Zimmerman, Punter, Clemson