Search Shop
Watson Wins Archie Griffin Award

Watson Wins Archie Griffin Award

Clemson, S.C.—Clemson sophomore quarterback Deshaun Watson has been named the recipient of the Archie Griffin Award for the 2015 season.  The honor is presented  each year to the Most Valuable Player of College Football by the Touchdown Club of Columbus, Ohio.  The award is named after the former Ohio State running back who is still the only two-time winner of the Heisman Trophy.

Watson will receive his award at the 61st Touchdown Club of Columbus Awards on Saturday, February 6 in Columbus, Ohio.  

Watson is the second ACC player to win the award in the last three years.  The 2013 winner was Jameis Winston of Florida State.  Last year’s winner was Ohio State running back Ezekiel Elliott.

Unlike the Heisman Trophy, the Archie Griffin Award takes bowl games into consideration in determining the winner.  Watson had 405 yards passing and 73 yards rushing for 478 yards of total offense against Alabama’s No. 2 ranked defense on Monday night in the National Championship game.   The Crimson Tide defeated Clemson 45-40.   

Watson’s 478 yards of total offense set a record for a national championship game.  The Tigers signal caller completed the season with 4104 yards passing and 1105 yards rushing and became the first player in FBS history to have at least 4000 yards passing and 1000 yards rushing in the same season.

Watson completed 333 of 491 passes for 4,104 yards and 35 touchdowns.  Rushing, he had 207 carries for 1105 yards and 12 scores.  His 5,209 yards of total offense and his 47 total touchdowns set ACC records.  

Nationally, Watson ranked first in the nation in QBR (87.8), third in the nation on points responsible for with 282, was fifth in completion percentage (.678), was eighth in touchdown passes with 35, eighth in total offense per game (347.3) and was 12th in passing efficiency at 156.3.

Watson was named the consensus All-America quarterback, was third in the Heisman Trophy balloting, was the Most Valuable Player of the Atlantic Coast Conference and was the MVP of the ACC Championship game and the Orange Bowl.