Search Shop
Watson National Offensive Player of the Year by

Watson National Offensive Player of the Year by

Clemson, S.C.—Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson has been named first-team All-American quarterback and National Offensive Player of the Year by Watson has led the Tigers to the College Football Playoff for the second consecutive year.

This is the fifth national honor for Watson.   Earlier he won the Davey O’Brien Award and the Johnny Unitas Award as the top quarterback in the nation. He also was named the National Player of the Year for the regular season by the Columbus Touchdown Club (Chic Harley Award), and Westwood One Radio.

Watson will lead the Tigers in the College Football Playoff against Ohio State at the PlayStation Fiesta Bowl in Glendale, Arizona December 31.

Watson finished second in the Heisman Trophy voting, the second consecutive year he has been a finalist. He is the first ACC player to finish in the top three of the Heisman voting in consecutive years.

The Clemson graduate (December 15) has thrown for a school record 37 touchdown passes this year and 43 total touchdowns, including rushing scores.   He holds 52 Clemson records and has a 30-3 record as the starting quarterback over the last three years.