Search Shop
Watson and Lawson Named Consensus All-Americans

Watson and Lawson Named Consensus All-Americans

Clemson, S.C.—Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson and defensive end Shaq Lawson have been named consensus All-Americans for the 2015 season.   Consensus All-Americans are recognized by selection to at least two of the five major teams selected: The Football Writers Association of American, the American Football Coaches Association, The Associated Press, Sporting News and Walter Camp Foundation.

Watson was named first team by Associated Press, Football Writers and American Football Coaches Association, while Lawson was a first-team choice by all but the Sporting News.

Clemson had half of the ACC membership on the consensus team.  The other ACC players selected were Jeremy Cash, a defensive back from Duke and Jalen Ramsey, a defensive back from Florida State.

This marks the first time since 1991 and just the third time in history that Clemson has had two consensus All-America selections in the same year. In 1991,  Jeb Flesh and Levon Kirkland were consensus selections.   Jeff Davis and Terry Kinard were considered consensus All-Americans on Clemson’s 1981 National Championship team. 

This marks the third straight year and the sixth time in seven years under Dabo Swinney that Clemson has had a consensus All-American.  C.J. Spiller was selected in 2009, Da’Quan Bowers in 2010 and Dwayne Allen in 2011.  Vic Beasley was a consensus All-American each of the last two years, the first two-time selection since Kinard in 1981 and 1982.

Watson quarterbacked Clemson to a 13-0 record this year and the No. 1 national ranking by Associated Press, USA Today and the College Football Playoff poll.  He was the winner of the Davey O’Brien Award as the nation’s top quarterback and was the Most Valuable player of the Atlantic Coast Conference.

Lawson led the nation in tackles for loss with 22.5, three more than any other player.  In addition to his All-America selections he was a finalist for the Lombardi Award, the Hendricks Award and the Nagurski Award.