Search Shop
Vote for Dabo Swinney for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award

Vote for Dabo Swinney for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award

Dec. 14, 2009

Click here to vote for Coach Swinney beginning December 15 through December 29, 2009.

CLEMSON, SC – Now in its fourth year of heralding college football coaches who demonstrate sportsmanship, integrity and responsibility on and off the field, Liberty Mutual Insurance today named Clemson Head Coach Dabo Swinney one of 10 Football Bowl Subdivision finalists for the 2009 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award. If he wins, Liberty Mutual will award Coach Swinney $50,000 to donate to the charity of his choice and a $20,000 grant to donate to the Clemson alumni association for student scholarships and activities. Winners will be announced January 6, 2010, in Los Angeles, in advance of the BCS Championship Game.

Joining Coach Swinney among the 10 finalists for the Football Bowl Subdivision are, in alphabetical order: Mack Brown, University of Texas; Pete Carroll, University of Southern California; Al Golden, Temple University; Kirk Ferentz, University of Iowa; Paul Johnson, Georgia Institute of Technology; Brian Kelly, University of Cincinnati; Joe Paterno, Penn State University; Gary Patterson, Texas Christian University; and Nick Saban, University of Alabama.

Between December 15 and December 29 fans can visit to vote among the finalists. Fan votes constitute 20 percent of a coach’s final score.

To ensure candidates are evaluated fairly and measured against the specific values of responsibility and integrity, selection committees of College Football Hall of Fame players and coaches – including Archie Manning, Lou Holtz, Vince Dooley, Ronnie Lott, and Jerry Rice – and the national college football media will also cast votes for the winners. Hall of Fame and media votes account for 55 percent and 25 percent, respectively.

Past winners, including Alabama’s Nick Saban (2008), Northern Illinois’ Jerry Kill (2007) and Pittsburg State’s Chuck Broyles (2008), have used their Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award money to help build homes in local communities, support children in need and even fight terminal diseases. Including the 2009 winners, Liberty Mutual will have donated nearly $1 million to support dozens of national and local charities and college scholarship funds on behalf of its Coach of the Year Award winners.