Search Shop
Dec 05, 2018

Swinney Named Finalist For Multiple Coach Of The Year Honors

CLEMSON, S.C. — Clemson Head Coach Dabo Swinney was named as a finalist for multiple head coach of the year honors on Wednesday, as the Football Writers Association of America announced Swinney as a finalist for the 2018 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award and the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation announced him as a finalist for the 2018 Dodd Trophy.

The two finalist selections add to Swinney’s growing list of accolades for his performance in leading the Tigers to a 13-0 record and a fourth consecutive College Football Playoff berth this season. He has earned both ACC Coach of the Year and Associated Press ACC Coach of the Year honors while also collecting the 2018 Woody Hayes Award as the national coach of the year as awarded by the Touchdown Club of Columbus.

Swinney is one of eight finalists for this year’s Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award. The finalist selection is the fourth of his career, joining previous finalist nods from 2011, 2015 and 2017. A full list of Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year finalists for this year is included below:

  • Bill Clark, UAB
  • Josh Heupel, UCF
  • Brian Kelly, Notre Dame
  • Jeff Monken, Army
  • Lincoln Riley, Oklahoma
  • Nick Saban, Alabama
  • Dabo Swinney, Clemson
  • Jeff Tedford, Fresno State

Swinney is also one of seven finalists for the Dodd Trophy, which honors coaches in the three pillars of scholarship, leadership and integrity, both on and off the field. Swinney previously won the Dodd Trophy in 2011 and is one of two previous winners to earn a finalist selection this year (Nick Saban, 2014).

A full list of finalists for this year’s Dodd Trophy is included below:

  • Dino Babers, Syracuse
  • Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern
  • Brian Kelly, Notre Dame
  • Lincoln Riley, Oklahoma
  • Nick Saban, Alabama
  • Kirby Smart, Georgia
  • Dabo Swinney, Clemson