Search Shop
Jul 22, 2019

Simmons Named To Butkus Watch List

The Butkus Foundation announced today that Clemson linebacker Isaiah Simmons has been named to the watch list for the Butkus Award. The full watch list and additional information from the Butkus Foundation are included below.

CHICAGO – (July 22, 2019) – The Butkus Award® honoring the nation’s best linebackers kicked off its 35th annual selection process today by announcing its collegiate and high school preseason watch lists.

Each watch list contains 51 linebackers, mirroring the legendary “51” pro jersey associated with the Award’s namesake Dick Butkus, who was recognized by NFL Films as the best defensive player in football history.

The Collegiate Butkus Award watch list includes candidates from 39 universities, including returning finalist Dylan Moses of Alabama who won the 2016 high school Butkus Award, and returning semifinalist Markus Bailey of Purdue.

The High School Butkus Award watch list includes candidates from 47 secondary schools across 22 states, with Georgia schools fielding the most candidates (6).

Semi-finalists will be named November 4, finalists November 25, and winners on or before December 10. Appearing on the watch list is not a requirement to win the award.

The 2018 Butkus Award winners:

  • Professional: Khalil Mack, Chicago Bears
  • Collegiate: Devin White, LSU (now Tampa Bay Buccaneers)
  • High School: Nakobe Dean, Horn Lake, Miss. (now Georgia)

Formed in 1985, the Butkus Award was expanded in 2008 to honor linebackers at three levels while supporting causes important to the Butkus family. They include the I Play Clean® initiative promoting training and nutrition instead of performance-enhancing drugs, and the Butkus Takes Heart™ initiative encouraging early cardiovascular screening among adults.

The Butkus Award, and on Facebook at 51.butkus, is presented by the nonprofit Butkus Foundation. Selectors and selection criteria are located on the official website. Search social media for #butkusaward2019.

The Butkus Award® is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. NCFAA’s 25 awards have honored more than 800 recipients since 1935. Visit for more information.

2019 College Butkus Award Watch List:

Anfernee Jennings, Alabama
Terrell Lewis, Alabama
Dylan Moses, Alabama
Akeem Davis-Gaither, Appalachian State
Tony Fields, Arizona
Colin Schooler, Arizona
De’Jon Harris, Arkansas
Clay Johnston, Baylor
Evan Weaver, California
Isaiah Simmons, Clemson
Nate Landman, Colorado
Davion Taylor, Colorado
Sage Lewis, FIU
Dontavious Jackson, Florida State
Mykal Walker, Fresno State
K’Lavon Chaisson, LSU
Michael Divinity, LSU
Jacob Phillips, LSU
Patrick Queen, LSU
Michael Pickney, Miami (Fla.)
Shaquille Quarterman, Miami (Fla.)
Khaleke Hudson, Michigan
Joshua Uche, Michigan
Joe Bachie, Michigan State
Kamal Martin, Minnesota
Mohamed Sanogo, Mississippi
Willie Gay, Mississippi State
Erroll Thompson, Mississippi State
Cale Garrett, Missouri
Dante Olson, Montana
Mohamed Barry, Nebraska
Paddy Fisher, Northwestern
Tuf Borland, Ohio State
Malik Harrison, Ohio State
Kenneth Murray, Oklahoma
Calvin Bundage, Oklahoma State
Troy Dye, Oregon
Cameron Brown, Penn State
Micah Parsons, Penn State
Markus Bailey, Purdue
Kyahva Tezino, San Diego State
T.J. Brunson, South Carolina
Chapelle Russell, Temple
Darrell Taylor, Tennessee
Jordyn Brooks, Texas Tech
Javin White, UNLV
David Woodward, Utah State
Charles Snowden, Virginia
Justin Strnad, Wake Forest
Zack Baun, Wisconsin
Logan Wilson, Wyoming