Pro Football Hall of Famer Brian Dawkins roamed the Clemson secondary as a free safety from 1992-95. Dawkins earned the respect of his teammates, coaches and fan base with his intense style of play and leadership on and off the field.

Clemson football aspires to shape the lives of their student-athletes as citizens that will impact our world for eternity. Beginning in 2013, the Brian Dawkins Lifetime Achievement Award was created with its namesake’s legacy and impact in mind. The purpose of this award is to honor those former student-athletes who embody these qualities and maintain lifestyles indicative of true champions at their best.

Candidates for the Brian Dawkins Lifetime Achievement Award must be Clemson football lettermen and graduates with at least ten years of service as alumni who show continual support of Clemson University and its vision, validated by participation in institutional involvement and community engagement. The yearly award recipient, voted on by a committee of former winners and program leaders, must display community leadership and represent the values associated with the Brian Dawkins Clemson Lifetime Achievement Award: integrity, scholarship, athletics, service, leadership, commitment, dedication, courage, resilience and spirit.

The 2021 Brian Dawkins Award recipient is Carl Martin. Presently, Carl serves as Executive Director of Real Champions Inc. a mentoring organization which provides full-time, paid mentors for the most vulnerable children South Carolina, and is a “Life Coach” with VisionVentures, Inc. Carl has coached officially for 15 years, but has been training, consulting and equipping people for nearly 40 years.

Carl graduated from Clemson University with a B.A. in Political Science and also completed his Masters of Divinity Degree in 1987 and his Doctor of Ministry Degree in 1998 and preaches weekly at the Chapel in Palmetto Bluff in Bluffton, SC.

While at Clemson, he was the smallest player on Danny Ford’s National Championship Football Team; Carl played all four years and lettered two years. He played in every game his junior and senior seasons as Clemson posted a 21-1-1 record.

Former Winners:

Michael Dean Perry

Michael Allen

Mark Richardson

Jeff Davis

Jerry Butler

Bill Smith

Warren Forney

Patrick Sapp