Search Shop
Miller Named to Nagurski Watch List

Miller Named to Nagurski Watch List

May 2, 2003

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (FWAA) –Clemson sophomore cornerback Justin Miller is one of 36 defensive players from across the nation named to the preseason Watch List for the Bronko Nagurski Award.

The award, named after Hall of Famer and University of Minnesota and Chicago Bears star Bronko Nagurski, recognizes the best all-around defensive players throughout the year with the Bronko Nagurski Player of the Week. In November, five finalists will be selected by the FWAA All-America committee and the trophy will be presented to the winner at a banquet on December 8 in Charlotte, N.C.

Miller ranked fifth in the nation in interceptions last year with eight. That tied a Clemson single season record. In addition to leading the ACC in interceptions, he also led the conference in kickoff return average. He had 17 passes defensed for the year to rank in a tie for team honors with Brian Mance, and he finished the season with 61 total tackles. Miller was a first-team freshman All-American by the Football Writers Association of America.

Miller was one of just three ACC players on the list. The others were Michael Boulware of Florida State and Madieu Williams of Maryland.

The Watch List serves as guide to the best players in the game and is updated each week during the college football season. It is the 11th straight year the FWAA has honored the Defensive Player of the Year. Terrell Suggs of Arizona State was the recipient last year.

The 800-member Football Writers Association of America selects the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list candidates, identifies the players of the week and names the trophy winner. The Charlotte Touchdown Club, a non-profit organization that raises funds for scholarships, has presented the trophy each year since 1995.

The following 36 players make up the 2003 Watch List:

Tim Anderson, DL, Ohio State Jason Babin, DL, Western Michigan Atari Bigby, DB, Central Florida Michael Boulware, LB, Florida State Jamaal Brimmer, DB, UNLV Jorge Cordova, DE, Nevada Karlos Dansby, LB, Auburn Rod Davis, LB, Southern Miss Brandon Everage, DB, Oklahoma Matt Grootegoed, LB, USC Claude Harriott, DE, Pittsburgh Tommie Harris, DT, Oklahoma Derrick Johnson, LB, Texas Jason Kaufusi, DL, Utah Brandon Kennedy, DT, North Texas Teddy Lehman, LB, Oklahoma Jim Leonhard, DB, Wisconsin Justin Miller, CB, Clemson Kirk Morrison, LB, San Diego State Antwan Odom, DE, Alabama Philip Perry, DE, San Jose State David Pollack, DE, Georgia Etric Pruitt, DB, Southern Miss Bob Sanders, DB, Iowa Stuart Schweigert, FS, Purdue Darrion Scott, DL, Ohio State Richard Seigler, LB, Oregon State Isaac Sopoaga, DT, Hawaii Derrick Strait, DB, Oklahoma Marcus Tubbs, DT, Texas Kenechi Udeze, DE, USC Jonathan Vilma, LB, Miami Courtney Watson, LB, Notre Dame Corey Webster, CB, LSU Grant Wiley, LB, West Virginia Madieu Williams, CB, Maryland