Search Shop
Aug 11, 2020

Lawrence Named to Johnny Unitas Award Watch List

The Golden Arm Foundation announced today that Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence has been named as one of 48 players on the watch list for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. Additional information from award organizers is included below.

[Via Golden Arm Foundation] As with all aspects of our lives, COVID-19 has altered the sports world greatly. College football has played an integral role in the sports landscape in this country for more than 125 years, and we certainly hope that student athletes can safely return to the field this fall.

Whether college football games are played with or without fans in stadiums, we know that fans will be watching and cheering from their homes as intently as ever once games return.

As we anticipate a 2020 college football season, The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award along with presenting sponsor A. O. Smith Corporation announce the 2020 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Watch List.

2020 Golden Arm Award Watch List

Jack Abraham, Southern Miss
Jake Bentley, Utah
James Blackman, Florida State
Ian Book, Notre Dame
Alan Bowman, Texas Tech
Myles Brennan, LSU
Charlie Brewer, Baylor
Chase Brice, Duke
Anthony Brown, Oregon
Sean Clifford, Penn State
Jack Coan, Wisconsin
K.J. Costello, Mississippi State
Dustin Crum, Kent State
Micale Cunningham, Louisville
Sam Ehlinger, Texas
Justin Fields, Ohio State
Feleipe Franks, Arkansas
Chase Garbers, California
Jarrett Guarantano, Tennessee
Donald Hammond III, Air Force
Sam Hartman, Wake Forest
Hendon Hooker, Virginia Tech
Josh Jackson, Maryland
Mac Jones, Alabama
D’Eriq King, Miami
Trevor Lawrence, Clemson
Levi Lewis, Louisiana
Adrian Martinez, Nebraska
Dylan McCaffery, Michigan
David Mills, Stanford
Kellen Mond, Texas A&M
Tanner Morgan, Minnesota
Jamie Newman, Georgia
Patrick O’Brien, Colorado State
Asher O’Hara, Middle Tennessee
Brandon Peters, Illinois
Kenny Pickett, Pittsburgh
Drew Plitt, Ball State
Brock Purdy, Iowa State
Peyton Ramsey, Northwestern
Shawn Robinson, Missouri
Nick Starkel, San Jose State
Zac Thomas, Appalachian State
Skylar Thompson, Kansas State
Dorian Thompson-Robinson, UCLA
Kyle Trask, Florida
Zach Wilson, BYU
Terry Wilson, Kentucky

The namesake of the Golden Arm Award has a storied history. Johnny Unitas was an 18-year veteran of the NFL, who played his collegiate career at the University of Louisville before joining the Baltimore Colts in 1958. His career passing figures include 2,830 pass completions for 40,239 yards, 290 touchdowns and throwing a touchdown pass in 47 consecutive games.

This award is presented annually to the top senior and upperclassman quarterback set to graduate with their class by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation and Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Selection Committee. Candidates are chosen based on player performance on and off the field.

Giving life to the commitment to give back, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and presenting sponsor A. O. Smith continue to promote football on all levels by providing financial aid to deserving young scholar athletes. A. O. Smith is committed to creating innovative solutions that set new standards for their industry.