Search Shop
James Davis Named Semifinalist for Doak Walker Award

James Davis Named Semifinalist for Doak Walker Award

Nov. 16, 2006

DALLAS, TEXAS – The Guaranty Bank SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors announced today the ten semifinalists for the 2006 Doak Walker Award.

The semifinalists (in alphabetical order) are:

James Davis (So.) – Clemson Mike Hart (Jr.) – Michigan P.J. Hill Jr. (Fr.) – Wisconsin Ian Johnson (So.) – Boise State Marshawn Lynch (Jr.) – California Darren McFadden (So.) – Arkansas Adrian Peterson (Jr.) – Oklahoma Ray Rice (So.) – Rutgers Steve Slaton (So.) – West Virginia Garrett Wolfe (Sr.) – Northern Illinois

The 166 members of the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast their votes over the next week to determine the 2006 finalists. On Tuesday, November 21, three finalists will be named, and a second vote will determine the recipient. The recipient of the 2006 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on ESPN’s The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 7.

The award will be presented at the 2006 Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet in Dallas on Thursday, February 15, 2007. The late Walter Payton, former Jackson State and Chicago Bear great, was named the recipient of the 2006 PricewaterhouseCoopers Doak Walker Legends Award and will also be honored at the banquet.