Search Shop
Oct 29, 2019

Etienne, Simmons Named Semifinalist for Maxwell, Bednarik Awards

The Maxwell Football Club announced today that Clemson running back Travis Etienne has been named as one of 20 semifinalists for the 2019 Maxwell Award and Clemson linebacker Isaiah Simmons has been named as one of 20 semifinalists for the 2019 Bednarik Award. Additional information from the Maxwell Football Club is included below.

PHILADELPHIA — Maxwell Football Club President, Mark Dianno, announced the 2019 semifinalists for the 83rd Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year and the 25th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. The respective lists include a field of 20 candidates for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards as selected by the Maxwell Football Club National Selection Committee. The Maxwell Football Club has once again teamed with Pro Football Focus (PFF) and Phil Steele Publications as selection committee partners. PFF provides detailed statistical and performance based assessments to selection committee staff, and several senior PFF analysts have been added to the selection committee and have participated in the process. Phil Steele’s Football Guide is generally recognized as the most complete football reference in the country.

A strong field of Maxwell Award semifinalists includes a representative from every Power Five conference as well as one student-athlete from a Group of Five school. The 2018 Maxwell Award winner Tua Tagovailoa (Alabama) leads an impressive list of returnees which includes Justin Herbert (Oregon), Jonathan Taylor (Wisconsin), Zack Moss (Utah), AJ Dillon (Boston College) and Travis Etienne (Clemson).

On the defensive side of the ball, the field of contenders is comprised of fresh faces, all of whom are making their debuts as Bednarik Award semifinalists. Six different conferences are represented, led by six student-athletes from the SEC and five from the Big Ten.

Last season, the Maxwell Award was presented to Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa and the Bednarik Award went to Kentucky defensive end Josh Allen. Tagovailoa has returned for his junior season at Alabama and has led the Crimson Tide to an 8-0 record this season. Allen was a first round draft pick of the Jacksonville Jaguars and has posted 7 sacks thus far during his rookie campaign.


WR Jerry Jeudy, Alabama
QB Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama
DT Derrick Brown, Auburn
QB Charlie Brewer, Baylor
RB AJ Dillon, Boston College
RB Travis Etienne, Clemson
RB Cam Akers, Florida State
RB D’Andre Swift, Georgia
QB Joe Burrow, LSU
QB Justin Fields, Ohio State
DE Chase Young, Ohio State
QB Jalen Hurts, Oklahoma
WR CeeDee Lamb, Oklahoma
RB Chuba Hubbard, Oklahoma State
QB Justin Herbert, Oregon
WR KJ Hamler, Penn State
QB Shane Buechele, SMU
QB Sam Ehlinger, Texas
RB Zack Moss, Utah
RB Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin


S Xavier McKinney, Alabama
DT Derrick Brown, Auburn
DE Curtis Weaver , Boise State
LB Evan Weaver, Cal
LB Isaiah Simmons, Clemson
NG Marvin Wilson, Florida State
S J.R. Reed, Georgia
CB Derek Stingley, LSU
CB Jeffrey Okudah, Ohio State
DE Chase Young, Ohio State
DT Neville Gallimore, Oklahoma
LB Kenneth Murray, Oklahoma
DE Yetur Gross-Matos, Penn State
LB Micah Parsons, Penn State
DT Javon Kinlaw, South Carolina
DL Justin Madubuike, Texas A&M
LB Jordyn Brooks, Texas Tech
DE Bradlee Anae, Utah
LB David Woodward, Utah State
DE Zack Baun, Wisconsin

Semifinalist voting for both of the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Wednesday Oct. 30 and will close on Nov. 24. Three finalists for each award will be announced on Nov. 25 and a second round of voting will take place at that time. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head football coaches, sports information directors and selected national media. All semifinalists are listed in alphabetical order by school with the player’s school, position and class designated.

The winners of the 83rd Maxwell Award and the 25th Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show presented by Gildanwhich will be broadcast live on ESPN on Dec. 12, 2019. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club’s Awards Dinner on Friday, March 6, 2020.