Search Shop
Dec 21, 2020

Etienne Named to Hornung Award Honor Roll

Clemson running back Travis Etienne was one of five players named to the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll for his performance in Clemson’s 34-10 win against Notre Dame in the ACC Championship Game. Additional details are included below.

Louisville, Ky. – Dec. 21, 2020 – Five offensive players / return specialists were named to the weekly Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll. Making the list are: Britain Covey, Utah; Travis Etienne, Clemson; Justin Hall, Ball State; DeVonta Smith, Alabama; and Kadarius Toney, Florida.

The Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse, now in its 11th season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission to pay tribute to football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award dinner at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville in March 2021.

College football fans nationwide have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. Online fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse is now open HERE and factors into the selection of the finalists and winner.

Utah junior wide receiver / return specialist Britain Covey touched the ball four different ways and scored once in the Utes’ 45-28 win over Washington State. Covey caught six passes for 134 yards, including a dazzling 90-yard touchdown catch to open the scoring for the Utes. He carried the ball two times, returned a kickoff 25 yards and returned three punts for 17 yards. Four of his catches went for first downs.

Clemson senior running back / return specialist Travis Etienne touched the ball three different ways for 189 all-purpose yards and a touchdown in the Tigers’ 34-10 win over Notre Dame in the ACC Championship. He carried the ball 10 times for 144 yards and seven first downs, and his 44-yard touchdown run in the closing seconds of the first half posted Clemson to a 24-3 lead. Etienne caught two passes and returned two kickoffs, including a 37-yard return to open the second half.

Ball State senior wide receiver / return specialist Justin Hall touched the ball three different ways and scored once in the Cardinals’ 38-28, come-from-behind win over Buffalo in the MAC Championship game. Hall caught five passes for 45 yards, including a nine-yard touchdown in the second quarter to tie the game. He carried the ball six times for 55 yards, including several snaps from the wildcat quarterback position, and accounted for four first downs rushing and receiving. Hall also returned one kickoff.

Alabama senior wide receiver / return specialist DeVonta Smith touched the ball three different ways for 208 all-purpose yards and two touchdowns in Alabama’s 52-46 win over Florida in the SEC Championship. He caught 15 passes for 184 yards and two touchdowns, including a 15-yard score in the fourth quarter that proved to be the game winner. Smith accounted for five first downs receiving, recovered a teammate’s fumble that led to a score and recovered an onside kick late in the game. He also returned a punt 20 yards.

Florida senior wide receiver/ return specialist Kadarius Toney touched the ball 15 times four different ways and scored once in the Gators’ 52-46 loss to Alabama in the SEC Championship. He caught eight passes for 153 yards, including a 51-yard touchdown in the first quarter, returned two kickoffs for 41 yards, and caught a punt over his shoulder late in the game that kept Florida from being backed up inside the 10 yard line. Toney carried the ball twice for 16 yards and accounted for six first downs rushing and receiving.

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Each week during the regular season, a panel of college football experts selects players for the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll based on performance. A national selection committee comprised of 17 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award finalists and the winner, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 18th vote. Regional accounting firm Dean Dorton independently tabulates all votes. For more information, visit Fans also can follow online on Twitter (@hornungaward) and Become a Fan on Facebook.

Previous Paul Hornung Award winners by year: