Search Shop
Dawson Zimmerman Named Finalist for 2011 Wuerffel Trophy

Dawson Zimmerman Named Finalist for 2011 Wuerffel Trophy

Nov. 8, 2011

FORT WALTON BEACH, FL – The All Sports Association, Inc. announced today the 13 finalists for the 2011 Wuerffel Trophy, the national award that honors the college football player who best combines exemplary community service with outstanding academic and athletic achievement.

The award is named after former Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel, who led the Florida Gators to the 1996 national championship, played six years in the National Football League and has received national recognition for his humanitarian and community service efforts with Desire Street Ministries in New Orleans and around the country.

“The All Sports Association is proud not only of this year’s Wuerffel Trophy finalists, but all of the nominees,” commented All Sports President William Thomas. “These young men set such a great example for others.”

The finalists, who were nominated by their schools’ sports information directors or football liaisons, are (listed alphabetically by university):

– Barrett Jones, Junior – Offensive Lineman – Alabama – Robert Griffin III, Junior – Quarterback – Baylor – Cody Wilson, Junior – Wide Receiver – Central MichiganDawson Zimmerman, Senior – Punter – Clemson – Dustin Hopkins, Junior – Kicker – Florida State – Drew Butler, Senior – Punter – Georgia – Stuart Hines, Senior – Offensive Line, Kentucky – Kirk Cousins, Senior – Quarterback, Michigan State – Chandler Harnish, Senior – Quarterback, Northern Illinois – Ben Buchanan, Junior – Punter – Ohio State – Gilbert “Chaz” Hine, Senior – Offensive Lineman, South Florida – Matt Barkley, Junior – Quarterback, Southern California – Emmanuel Acho, Senior – Linebacker, Texas

A committee that includes the Wuerffel Trophy national directors, selection committee members and past winners, will vote on the finalists later this month, and the winner will be formally announced on December 6th.

“Once again, I’m amazed at the quality of character and accomplishments we have in our finalists. These young men have succeeded both on and off the field in extraordinary ways. It’s definitely going to be a tough process for the selection committee to pick winner,” said Danny Wuerffel.

Past Winners of the award are: 2005-Rudy Niswanger-LSU; 2006-Joel Penton-Ohio State; 2007 – Paul Smith-Tulsa; 2008-Tim Tebow-Florida; 2009-Tim Hiller-Western Michigan, 2010-Sam Acho-Texas.

The 2011 Wuerffel Trophy will be presented to the winner at the All Sports Association’s 43rd Annual Awards Banquet on Friday, February 17, 2012.