Search Shop
Cullen Harper Named to 2008 O’Brien Quarterback Award Watch List

Cullen Harper Named to 2008 O’Brien Quarterback Award Watch List

July 18, 2008

FORT WORTH, TX – Clemson quarterback Cullen Harper is one of 31 quarterbacks named to the preseason list of Davey O’Brien Awward candidates. The award is given each year to the top quarterback in college football.

Harper set 22 Clemson passing records last year when he threw for 2991 yards and 27 touchdowns. His touchdown pass total broke the previous mark by six. Harper led the ACC in passing efficiency last year, the first Clemson quarterback to do that since Mike Eppley in 1983.

This is the second quarterback award Harper has been nominated for. He was also named a preseason candidate for the Johnny Unitas Award, which goes to the top senior quarterback in college football.

Watch List candidates were selected by a subset of the National Selection Committee and approved by the Davey O’Brien Executive Committee. Semifinalists will be announced October 27; finalists November 24. This prestigious award focuses on accomplishments both on and off the field. The Selection Committee is asked to evaluate all candidates on their quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

The 2008 winner will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN December 11. The recipient will be honored February 16, 2009, at the 32nd Annual O’Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

2008 O’Brien Watch List: Todd Boeckman – SR, Ohio State Sam Bradford – SO, Oklahoma Tom Brandstater – SR, Fresno State Hunter Cantwell – SR, Louisville Rudy Carpenter – SR, Arizona State Jimmy Clausen – SO, Notre Dame Chase Clement – SR, Rice Chase Daniel – SR, Missouri Sean Glennon – SR, Virginia Tech Matt Grothe – JR, South Florida Max Hall – JR, BYUCullen Harper – SR, Clemson Graham Harrell – SR, Texas Tech Chase Holbrook – SR, New Mexico State Kaipo-Noa Kaheaku-Enhada – SR, Navy Dan LeFevour – JR, Central Michigan Jake Locker – JR, Washington Colt McCoy – JR, Texas Curtis Painter – SR, Purdue Todd Reesing – JR, Kansas Mark Sanchez – JR, USC Riley Skinner – JR, Wake Forest Rusty Smith – JR, Florida Atlantic Matthew Stafford – JR, Georgia Tim Tebow – JR, Florida Mike Teel – SR, Rutgers Willie Tuitama – SR, Arizona Drew Weatherford – SR, Florida State Pat White – SR, West Virginia Juice Williams – JR, Illinois John Parker Wilson – SR, Alabama

About The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® The O’Brien honors the nation’s best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O’Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O’Brien is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation had given away over $750,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit