Search Shop
Clemson to Hold “Clemson Sons Bowl” at Death Valley on Saturday

Clemson to Hold “Clemson Sons Bowl” at Death Valley on Saturday

April 9, 2008

Clemson, SC – Clemson will hold its first Clemson Sons Bowl at Clemson Memorial Stadium on Saturday, April 12. The flag football game that will involve former Clemson players, will precede the Clemson Spring Football Game. The players will take the field for pregame warm-ups at 10:30 AM and the game will begin at 11:00 AM on Saturday.

At the conclusion of the Clemson Sons Bowl, players will be available for autographs and photos in the West Endzone concourse.

Forty former Tigers who played over the last 25 years have committed to play in the event. Other former Tiger greats will serve as coaches. The coaching staff for the White team will be Jeff Bostic, Homer Jordan and Michael Dean Perry. Bostic was an All-ACC center for the Tigers who went on to win three Super Bowl Championships with the Washington Redskins. Jordan quarterbacked Clemson to the National Championship in 1981 and Perry was an All-American and ACC Player of the Year in 1987, then went on to play in six Pro Bowls as a professional.

The coaching staff for the Orange team will be Danny Ford, Brian Dawkins and Charlie Whitehurst. Ford coached Clemson to the 1981 National Championship and five ACC championships between 1979-89. Dawkins was an All-American at Clemson in 1995 and has been named to six Pro Bowls in his NFL career, tying Perry’s record for a former Clemson player. Whitehurst set 46 Clemson records between 2002-05 and led the Tigers to 25 victories, second most in school history. He is in his third year with the San Diego Chargers.

The White team will be led by Woody Dantzler, who was a first-team All-ACC quarterback in 2001 when he became the first player in Division I history to pass for at least 2000 yards and rush for at least 1000 yards in the same season. Other prominent former players for the white team will be former All-ACC and Academic All-America linebacker Chad Carson and former starting defensive linemen Carlos Curry.

The Orange team has five former NFL players on its 20-man roster. That list includes three-time first-team All-ACC linebacker Levon Kirkland, a recent inductee into the South Carolina Hall of Fame, and Rod Gardner, a first-round draft choice in 2001 who was an All-American in 2000. Other former NFL players on the Orange team include James Trapp, a 10-year veteran and a Super Bowl Champion with the Baltimore Ravens, Tony Horne, who led the NFL in kickoff returns in 2000 and played on a Super Bowl Championship team with the Rams, and Patrick Sapp, a quarterback and defensive end at Clemson who played four years at outside linebacker in the NFL, will also compete for the Orange team.

White Team Numerical Roster
No. Name Position Years Hometown
1 Woody Dantzler QB 1998-2001 Orangeburg, SC
1 Randy Anderson QB 1984-87 Spartanburg, SC
1 Donnie Jewell PK 1991-93 Concord, NC
10 Michael Allen DB 1995-98 Conway, SC
11 Tribble Reese QB 2005-07 Mountain Brook, AL
12 Jeff Scott WR 2000-02 Columbia, SC
21 Henry Guess WR 1992-95 Cordova, SC
31 David Dunham LB 2002-05 Lake City, FL
32 Mitch Belton CB 1988-90 Columbia, SC
33 Tony DeSue RB 1993-96 Virginia Beach, VA
34 Mike Samnik TE 1988-91 Clearwater, FL
35 Tony Kennedy FB 1988-91 Elizabeth, NJ
37 Kevin Laird P 1995-98 Brandon, MS
42 Altroy Bodrick LB 1998-2002 Cameron, SC
46 Chad Carson LB 1998-2001 Newnan, GA
49 Jamie Pleasant DB 1987-90 Sumter, SC
56 Jason Fendley OL 1990-93 Westminster, SC
78 Alex Dial OL 1990-92 Columbia, SC
81 Jason Davis WR 1990-93 Pensacola, FL
93 Carlos Curry DL 1992-95 Decatur, GA
Coaching Staff: Jeff Bostic, Homer Jordan, Michael Dean Perry


Orange Team Numerical Roster
No. Name Position Years Hometown
1 Chad Jasmin FB 2000-03 Vecherie, LA
3 Patrick Sapp QB 1992-95 Jacksonville, FL
7 Tony Horne WR 1994-97 Rockingham, NC
18 Chuck Lynch P 1990-91 Wyndmoor, PA
18 Fletcher Anderson PK 2000-03 Columbia, SC
23 Rod Gardner WR 1997-2000 Jacksonville, FL
24 Chris Hart DB 1986-89 Miami, FL
27 Kevin Johnson CB 2000-02 Orangeburg, SC
27 James Trapp SS 1989-92 Lawton, OK
29 David Richardson PK 1996-98 Clemson, SC
44 Levon Kirkland OLB 1988-91 Lamar, SC
44 Jason Greene DL 1998-2000 Loris, SC
53 Tommy Sharpe C 2001-04 Albany, GA
54 Geoff Rigsby SN 2002-04 Greer, SC
56 Tim Jones LB 1991-94 Rock Hill, SC
60 Jeff Taylor BAN 1987-89 Seneca, SC
67 Josh Smith DL 2001-03 Easley, SC
83 Stephon Wynn TE 1991-94 Winnsboro, SC
86 Trey Howell WR 1986-88 Sumter, SC
99 Lamarick Simpson DL 1992-95 Rock Hill, SC
Coaching Staff: Danny Ford, Brian Dawkins, Charlie Whitehurst