Search Shop
May 14, 2020

Clemson Sports Information Earns Fifth Straight FWAA Super 11 Honor

The Football Writers Association of America announced today that Clemson has been named one of 11 recipients of its 2019 Super 11 Awards, presented annually to football programs and sports information departments that exemplify excellent media relations.

The honor is Clemson’s seventh since the award’s inception in 2009, tied for the second-most all-time. It is the program’s fifth consecutive honor, the nation’s longest active streak. Additional information from the FWAA is included below.

DALLAS – Five first-time recipients are included in the 11th Annual Super 11 Awards, which the Football Writers Association of America gives out annually to the best performing sports information departments in the Football Bowl Subdivision. The awards announced this week are for the 2019 season.

In addition, for the second straight year the FWAA presents a Super 11 Coach of the Year Award. That recipient is Kansas State’s Chris Klieman, who granted outstanding access to his program during the 2019 season, his first with the Wildcats.

“What is encouraging about this year’s group of recipients is for a second straight year we had a large number of first-year winners in the group,” FWAA Executive Director Steve Richardson said. “Last year we had four first-year recipients, so that means over a two-year period we have had nine new schools hitting strong standards for accessibility.”

As for the 2019 department awards, Clemson and Colorado each won for a seventh time. It was Clemson’s fifth straight award and Colorado’s sixth award in seven seasons. Navy won for a fourth time, Mississippi State a third time and Kansas State and San Diego State each for a second time.

The five first-time recipients in the award series, which dates back to the 2009 season, are Appalachian State, California, Iowa, Memphis and North Carolina State.

This year’s winners were deemed by FWAA observers to have had good accessibility during the week of the game and after the game – with a program’s players, coaches and assistant coaches – along with the other listed criteria.

“That was a special point of emphasis for 2018 and 2019,” Richardson said. “Our membership wanted access to players after games, of course, but also for human interest and analytical stories during the week. It is encouraging that SIDs were being allowed to do their jobs by coaches at these schools. Obviously, as we move into uncertain times in college football, there may be developing standards and protocols which become prominent.”

FWAA members who covered college football during the 2019 season provided input in the awards survey.

In January 2009, the FWAA formed the first Super 11 Committee. The concept has been supported and endorsed by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA), many of whom are members of the FWAA. The FWAA has awarded Super 11 to 70 different schools in this program over the years.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,300 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America teams.