Search Shop

Clemson Sports Information Office Named to Football Writers Association Super 11

April 18, 2011

DALLAS (FWAA) – The Football Writers Association of America has announced its second “Super 11” field of sports information departments which were deemed the best in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision during the 2010 season.

In alphabetical order those 11 honored departments are from the following schools: Clemson, Colorado, Georgia, Kentucky, Navy, Northwestern, Rutgers, Southern California (USC), Troy, Tulsa, and Utah. Five schools are repeaters from last season (Clemson, Georgia, Rutgers, USC and Utah).

“There are many outstanding sports information departments across college football,” said Tim Griffin, Super 11 Committee chairman and the FWAA’s immediate Past President. “But we felt it was very important to honor the best of the best – including some who have been honored for two straight years who are consistently exemplary above and beyond the call of duty. We plan to continue this program in upcoming years to continue to honor the departments who understand the demands of our jobs and continually do what they can to help us.”

Since the FWAA’s inception in 1941, one of the organization’s charges is to provide better working conditions for media across the country. Over the years, the FWAA has given out press box commendations to deserving schools. The FWAA also has conducted ratings of sports information departments.

Criteria in determining the winners not only included how press boxes/operations were run, but the quality and timeliness of information provided, the amount of information presented and appropriately updated on websites, personal responsiveness to media inquires as well as the accessibility of players, head and assistant coaches. The ratings also took into consideration the departments that went the extra mile in servicing the media. The Super 11 Committee received input from other FWAA members covering college football during a period from Feb. 1, 2010 through Jan. 31, 2011.

“The FWAA is proud to honor the fine work produced on a consistent basis by the Super 11,” said FWAA President Tommy Hicks. “Led by past president Tim Griffin, our organization seeks to recognize the sports information offices, big and small, that go about daily tasks with professionalism as well as a personal touch. Each of the offices included in the Super 11 has established itself among the best in the country.”

In addition to Griffin, members of the 2010 Super 11 Committee are Dennis Dodd,; Mark Blaudschun, Boston Globe; Chadd Cripe, Idaho Statesman; Dennis Dodd,; Herb Gould, Chicago Sun-Times; Kate Hairopoulos, The Dallas Morning News; Matt Markey, Toledo Blade; Ted Miller,; Lenn Robbins, New York Post; Randy Rosetta, Baton Rouge Advocate; and George Schroeder, Eugene Register-Guard.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.