Search Shop
Nov 20, 2018

Clemson Offensive Line Selected As Joe Moore Award Semifinalists

CLEMSON, S.C. — The Foundation for Teamwork announced today that Clemson’s offensive line has been selected as a semifinalist for the Joe Moore Award, presented annually since 2015 to the most outstanding offensive line in college football. Clemson’s line is one of 10 semifinalists, joining groups from Alabama, Arizona State, Georgia, Memphis, Notre Dame, Oklahoma, Pittsburgh, Washington State and Wisconsin.

Seven different players have started for Clemson’s offensive line this season, including Tremayne Anchrum (11 starts), Mitch Hyatt (11), John Simpson (11), Justin Falcinelli (10), Sean Pollard (seven), Gage Cervenka (four) and Cade Stewart (one). Twelve different Clemson offensive linemen have played at least 50 offensive snaps this season.

The group has powered one of the nation’s most explosive attacks, as Clemson’s offense ranks in the Top 10 in plays of 20-plus yards (71, ninth), 30-plus yards (43, third), 40-plus yards (28, first), 50-plus yards (18, first) and 60-plus yards (nine, tied for fifth) while sitting fifth in the country in scoring offense (44.7 points per game).

On the ground, the offensive line has helped Clemson rank second in the country in yards per carry (6.65), tied for fifth in rushing touchdowns (35) and 14th in rushing yards per game (247.73). In the passing game, the Tigers have surrendered only 14 sacks in 11 games, including only one in their last four contests.

The Joe Moore Award voting committee will announce its selection of finalists on Dec. 4. The selection of the 2018 Joe Moore Award Winner will be made public after a surprise visit to the winning university’s campus in late December.