Clemson and Alabama Have Three Unanimous All-Americans in Last Five Years

May 20, 2011

CLEMSON, SC – When Da’Quan Bowers earned unanimous first-team All-America honors in 2010, it gave the Clemson program three unanimous All-Americans in the last five years. Only Clemson and Alabama have accomplished that distinction.

Gaines Adams was a first-team unanimous All-American in 2006, then C.J. Spiller was named on every first-team All-America squad in 2009. Bowers made it three players in five years in 2010 when he was named to every first team in addition to winning the Bronko Nagurski Award (outstanding defensive player in the nation by Football Writers) and the Ted Hendricks Award (outstanding defensive end in the nation).

Clemson had just one first-team unanimous All-American prior to 2006, Terry Kinard in 1982 when he was also named CBS Sports National Defensive Player of the Year.

Unanimous First-Team All-America Selections, 2006-10
School No. Players
Clemson 3 Da’Quan Bowers (2010)
Alabama 3 Andre Smith (2008), Mark Ingram (2009), Rolando McClain (2009)
West Virginia 2 Dan Moses (2006), Steve Slayton (2006)
Ohio State 2 Troy Smith (2006), James Lauranaitis (2007)
Michigan 2 Lamarr Woodley (2006), Jake Long (2007)
Texas Tech 2 Michael Crabtree (2007), Michael Crabtree (2008)
LSU 2 Glenn Dorsey (2007), Patrick Peterson (2010)
Southern California 2 Sedrick Ellis (2007), Rey Maualuga (2008)
Texas 2 Brian Orakpo (2008), Colt McCoy (2009)
Florida 2 Brandon Spikes (2008), Joe Haden (2009)
Tennessee 2 Eric Berry (2008), Eric Berry (2009)
Oklahoma State 2 Russell Okung (2009), Justin Blackmon (2010)
Nebraska 2 Ndamukong Suh (2009), Prince Amukamara (2010)