Search Shop
Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge to Air on ESPN2 on Saturday, August 3

Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge to Air on ESPN2 on Saturday, August 3

ATLANTA, GA – The Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament will be nationally telecast on ESPN2 Saturday, August 3 in a one-hour special starting at 1 p.m. ET.

The event features the nation’s top coaches from around the nation partnered with former athletes and current celebrities in two-man teams competing for a scholarship purse of $520,000.

ESPN college football play-by-play announcer Dave Neal and analyst Andre Ware serve as commentators for the golf action that includes defending champions Paul Johnson and Jon Barry from Georgia Tech, two-time defending NCAA National Champion Nick Saban and Heisman Trophy winner Mark Ingram from Alabama, two-time tournament champions Steve Spurrier and Sterling Sharpe from the University of South Carolina and many others.

“Many of the coaches will wear microphones to allow viewers to listen in to their conversations on the course,” said Gary Stokan, Chick-fil-A Bowl president and CEO. “It really gives an inside look into these coaches’ personalities and how competitive this tournament really is. It should be a very entertaining afternoon of golf.”

The show will also feature exclusive interviews with the participating coaches and highlights from the long drive and putting competitions that took place prior to the golf tournament.

The nation’s premier head coach and celebrity golf event was held at the beautiful Reynolds Plantation resort on Lake Oconee outside Atlanta. Over the past seven years, the Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge has provided more than $4.03 million in scholarship and charity to its participating universities.

In all, 15 teams hit the links in the featured event, all vying for the $125,000 first-place scholarship prize. University teams competing include:

Alabama Nick Saban Mark Ingram


Gus Malzahn

Bo Jackson


Dabo Swinney

Steve Fuller

Florida State 

Jimbo Fisher  

Terrell Buckley 

Georgia Tech

Paul Johnson

Jon Barry 


Al Golden  

Gino Torretta


Hugh Freeze

Sean Tuohy 

Mississippi State 

Dan Mullen  

Fred McCrary

North Carolina 

Larry Fedora  

Roy Williams  

NC State 

Dave Doeren  

Tom Gugliotta 

Ohio State

Urban Meyer

Jeff Logan 

South Carolina

Steve Spurrier

Sterling Sharpe


Scott Shafer  

Jim Boeheim 

Virginia Tech

Frank Beamer

Dell Curry

Wake Forest 

Jim Grobe 

Riley Skinner 

In addition to the $520,000 scholarship purse, an additional $262,000 was donated to other charitable organizations. The Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge is a significant contributor to the Chick-fil-A Bowl’s overall annual charitable and scholarship donations. The Chick-fil-A Bowl leads all bowls in the country in charitable giving, including gifts of more than $15.7 million since 2002.

Past winners:  2012 Georgia Tech (Johnson/Barry /-10), 2011 Georgia Tech (Johnson/Barry / -11), 2010 Florida State (Fisher/Buckley / -7), 2009 South Carolina (Spurrier/Sharpe / -12, playoff winners), 2008 South Carolina (Spurrier/Sharpe / -12), 2007 Virginia Tech (Beamer/Dell Curry / -10).

The 2013 Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge will air again on ESPN on December 29, two days before the 2012 Chick-fil-A Bowl.

For more information on the event, visit