Search Shop
C.J. Spiller Named to Maxwell Award Watch List

C.J. Spiller Named to Maxwell Award Watch List

Aug. 19, 2009

Clemson, SC – Clemson running back C.J. Spiller is one of 55 players on the “Watch List” for the 2009 Maxwell Award, which is presented to the Outstanding Player in College Football, Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski announced.

Spiller was named to the Walter Camp Watch List and the Doak Walker Award watch list earlier this month. The senior from Lake Butler, FL was a first-team All-ACC selection last year on the field and in the classroom, the first running back in Clemson history to make both teams in the same year.

Spiller led the ACC in all-purpose running last year with 1,770 yards and he needs just 921 to become the ACC’s all-time leader in that category. He has 30 career touchdowns and 2,335 career rushing yards, tops among active ACC players. The 2009 Heisman Trophy candidate has a school record 12 touchdowns of 50 yards or more, including seven that are from 80 yards or more.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the outstanding collegiate football player in America since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell. The Maxwell Football Club, founded in 1935, is based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and is the oldest football club in the United States.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced on November 4th and three finalists for each award will be announced November 23rd. The winner of the 2009 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show, which will be held on December 10, 2009. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah’s Entertainment Atlantic City on March 5, 2010.

2009 Maxwell Award Watch List: Dezmon Briscoe, Kansas, WR, Jr. Chris Brown, Oklahoma, RB, Sr. Dez Bryant, Oklahoma State, WR, Jr. Daryll Clark, Penn State, QB, Sr. Jimmy Clausen, Notre Dame, QB, Jr. John Clay, Wisconsin, RB, So. Eric Decker, Minnesota, WR, Sr. Noel Devine, West Virginia, RB, Jr. Jonathan Dwyer, Georgia Tech, RB, Jr. Darren Evans, Virginia Tech, RB, So. Damion Fletcher, Southern Miss, RB, Sr. Toby Gerhart, Stanford, RB, Sr. Mardy Gilyard, Cincinnati, WR, Sr. A.J. Green, A.J., WR, So. Jermaine Gresham, Oklahoma, TE, Sr. Robert Griffin, Baylor, QB, So. Rob Gronkowski, Arizona, TE, Jr. Matt Grothe, South Florida, QB, Sr. Max Hall, BYU, QB, Sr. Kendall Hunter, Oklahoma State, RB, Jr. Julio Jones, Alabama, WR, So. Colin Kaepernick, Nevada, QB, Jr. Case Keenum, Houston, QB, Jr. Brandon LaFell, LSU, WR, Sr. Dan LeFevour, Central Michigan, QB, Sr. Jake Locker, Washington, QB, Jr. Ryan Mallett, Arkansas, QB, So. Jeremiah Masoli, Oregon , QB, Jr. Colt McCoy, Texas, QB, Sr. Brandon Minor, Michigan, RB, Sr. Kellen Moore, Boise State, QB, So. DeMarco Murray, Oklahoma, RB, Jr. Tony Pike, Cincinnati, QB, Sr. Terrelle Pryor, Ohio State, QB, So. Todd Reesing, Kansas, QB, Sr. Zac Robinson, Oklahoma State, QB, Sr. Jacquizz Rodgers, Oregon State, RB, So. Evan Royster, Penn State, RB, Jr. Charles Scott, LSU, RB, Sr. Da’Rel Scott, Maryland, RB, Jr. Jordan Shipley, Texas, WR, Sr. Michael Smith, Arkansas, RB, Sr. Jevan Snead, Ole Miss, QB, Jr.CJ Spiller, Clemson, RB, Sr. Ben Tate, Auburn, RB, Sr. Golden Tate, Notre Dame, WR, Jr. Tyrod Taylor, Virginia Tech, QB, Jr. Tim Tebow, Florida, QB, Sr. Damian Williams, USC, WR, Jr. Juice Williams, Illinois, QB, Sr. Russell Wilson, NC State, QB, So.