Search Shop
Boyd Named Semifinalist for 2011 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

Boyd Named Semifinalist for 2011 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

Oct. 24, 2011

Vote for Boyd for O’Brien Award:

FORT WORTH, TX – The Davey O’Brien Foundation announced today the selection of 16 semifinalists for the 2011 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien). Narrowed down from all 120 quarterbacks from NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools, semifinalists were selected by The O’Brien National Selection Committee, with the Fan Vote accounting for five percent of the total vote. The committee was asked to consider the following criteria: quarterback skills, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

The 2011 O’Brien Semifinalists represent schools from the following conferences: Big 12 (5), Pac-12 (4), Big Ten (3), ACC (1), Conference USA (1), MWC (1) and SEC (1). The list features returning finalists Andrew Luck (Sr., Stanford) and Kellen Moore (Sr., Boise State) as well as 2009 O’Brien Finalist Case Keenum (Sr., Houston). Returning semifinalists include: Matt Barkley (Jr., USC), Kirk Cousins (Sr., Michigan State), Robert Griffin III (Jr., Baylor), Landry Jones (Jr., Oklahoma), Denard Robinson (Jr., Michigan) and Darron Thomas (Jr., Oregon).

2011 Davey O’Brien Semifinalists
Matt Barkley Jr. Southern Cal Pac-12
Tajh Boyd So. Clemson ACC
Kirk Cousins Sr. Michigan State Big Ten
Seth Doege Jr. Texas Tech Big 12
Robert Griffin III Jr. Baylor Big 12
Landry Jones Jr. Oklahoma Big 12
Case Keenum Sr. Houston C-USA
Andrew Luck Sr. Stanford Pac-12
Kellen Moore Sr. Boise State MWC
Keith Price So. Washington Pac-12
Denard Robinson Jr. Michigan Big Ten
Ryan Tannehill Sr. Texas A&M Big 12
Darron Thomas Jr. Oregon Pac-12
Brandon Weeden Sr. Oklahoma State Big 12
Russell Wilson Sr. Wisconsin Big Ten
Tyler Wilson Jr. Arkansas SEC

Fans may now help determine which three quarterbacks will advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at Fan voting will close at noon (CT) on Nov. 20. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 21. The 2011 Davey O’Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Thursday, Dec. 8 on ESPN.