Search Shop
Bowers Named Finalist for Lombardi Award

Bowers Named Finalist for Lombardi Award

Nov. 10, 2010

Clemson, SC – Clemson defensive end Da’Quan Bowers has been named one of four finalists for the 2010 Rotary Lombardi Award. The honor, which has been given each year since 1970, goes to the nation’s top college lineman and is presented by the Rotary Club of Houston, TX. The award honors the memory of Vince Lombardi, legendary coach of the Green Bay Packers.

In addition to Bowers, the finalists are Adrian Clayborn, a defensive end from Iowa, Nick Fairley, a defensive lineman from Auburn, and Jake Kirkpatrick, a center from TCU.

Bowers is the first player from Clemson to be named a finalist for the Lombardi Award since William Perry in 1984.

Bowers leads the nation in quarterback sacks with 12.5 and in tackles for loss with 20. His sack total has already tied a Clemson record for a defensive lineman in a season and he needs just four more to break Keith Adams (linebacker) overall record of 16 set in 1999. His 20 tackles for loss are the most by a Clemson defensive lineman since 1996 when Trevor Pryce had 20.

Bowers, a junior from Bamberg, SC, is third on the Clemson team in tackles this year with 52 and he has a team best 14 quarterback pressures. Earlier this week he was named a national semifinalist for the Bednarik Award, which is presented to the top defensive player in college football.

Bowers and the Clemson Tigers will play at Florida State this Saturday at 8:00 PM in a game that will be televised by ABC.

All four finalists will come to Houston, TX for two full days of activities. The winner will be announced at the Rotary Lombardi Award Presentation on December 8, at the George R. Brown. Guest speaker for the evening will be Rudy Ruettiger, the former Notre Dame walk-on who was the inspiration for the film “Rudy.”