Search Shop
Bowers Named Associated Press First-Team All-American

Bowers Named Associated Press First-Team All-American

Dec. 14, 2010

CLEMSON, SC – Clemson defensive end Da’Quan Bowers has been named a first-team All-American by the Associated Press. This is the fourth major All-America team for Bowers. He was earlier named by the American Football Coaches Association, the Walter Camp Foundation and the Football Writers Association.

The final major All-America team to be announced is the Sporting News team. If Bowers is named to that team he will become just the fourth unanimous first-team All-American in Clemson history. The others are Terry Kinard (1982), Gaines Adams (2006) and C.J. Spiller (2009). Bowers would be the first to do it in his junior year.

Bowers could be considered the most honored Clemson player in history for a single season. He became the first Clemson player to win the Nagurski Award and the Hendricks Award. The Nagurski is selected by the Football Writers Association and goes to the top defensive player in college football. The Hendricks Award goes to the top defensive end in college football.

Bowers was also a finalist for the Lombardi Award and the Bednarik Award. He was also named the ACC Defensive Player of the Year.

Bowers leads the nation in sacks with 15.5 and is second in tackles for loss with 25. His sack total is second in Clemson history for one season, best among defensive linemen and is the most by an ACC player since 1999 when Keith Adams had a Clemson record 16 sacks. He had a streak of nine consecutive games with a sack, a school record. He is second on the team in tackles with 67. Clemson is ninth in the nation in scoring defense and second in fewest rushing touchdowns allowed with six.

Bowers’ tackle for loss total is the most by a Clemson defensive lineman since 1991 when Rob Bodine had 27. Bowers had a streak of nine straight games with a sack during this season, the longest streak in Clemson history.

Clemson’s First Team Associated Press All-Americans
Year Name Position
1939 Banks McFadden B
1959 Lou Cordileone L
1974 Bennie Cunningham TE
1978 Jerry Butler WR
1979 Jim Stuckey DT
1981 Terry Kinard FS
1982 Terry Kinard FS
1987 David Treadwell PK
1990 Stacy Long OT
1991 Jeb Flesch OG
1993 Stacy Seegars OG
1997 Anthony Simmons LB
2000 Keith Adams LB
2006 Gaines Adams LB
2009 C.J. Spiller AP
2010 Da’Quan Bowers DE