Search Shop
Boulware Named ACC Co-Defensive Player of the Year

Boulware Named ACC Co-Defensive Player of the Year

Clemson, S.C.—Clemson linebacker Ben Boulware and defensive tackle Dexter Lawrence both received special honors from the ACC on Thursday. Boulware was named Co-Defensive Player of the Year by the ACC Coaches and Lawrence was named the Defensive Rookie of the Year.

Eight Clemson players, four on offense and four on defense, were named first-team All-ACC by the 14 coaches. Additionally, six Tiger players were named second team and two more were third team selections. With 16 overall selections, Clemson had five more than an other team.

Boulware was the leader of the Clemson defense from his linebacker position and led the Tigers in tackles. He had 17 tackles in the win over Louisville and was named the national Defensive Player of the Week by four different services. He won the Jack Lambert Award as the top linebacker in college football on Wednesday. Lawrence has seven sacks, most ever by a Clemson true freshman.   Both players are big reasons Clemson ranks third in the nation in sacks and tackles for loss and ninth in total defense.

Named to the first team offense were receiver Mike Williams, tight end Jordan Leggett, center Jay Guillermo and guard Tyrone Crowder. The first team Tigers on defense were tackle Carlos Wakins, Boulware, cornerback Cordrea Tankersley and safety Jadar Johnson.

Clemson had five players on the second team offense, including quarterback Deshaun Watson, receiver Artavis Scott, tackle Mitch Hyatt, running back Wayne Gallman and kicker Greg Huegel. Lawrence was the only second team Tiger on defense. Defensive end Christian Wilkins and safety Van Smith were third team selections from the Clemson defense.

Clemson will face Ohio State in the semifinals of the College Football Playoff in Glendale, Arizona on December 31.

Clemson ACC Coaches All-ACC Summary

1st team Offense:  Mike Williams, Jordan Leggett, Tyrone Crowder, Jay Guillermo

Second team offense:  Deshaun Watson, Wayne Gallman, Greg Huegel, Mitch Hyatt, Artavis Scott


1st team Defense:  Carlos Watkins, Ben Boulware, Cordrea Tankersely, Jadar Johnson

2nd team defense:  Dexter Lawrence,

3rd team defense:  Christian Wilkins, Van Smith