Search Shop
2008 Clemson Football Award Winners Announced

2008 Clemson Football Award Winners Announced

Jan. 13, 2009

GALLERY (courtesy of Mark Crammer)

Clemson, SC – Clemson held its annual football banquet on Saturday, January 10 at The Madren Center on the Clemson campus. Head Coach Dabo Swinney and his staff presented many awards for the 2008 season.

Running back Kyle Young in 2000. Brandon Maye, a first-team freshman All-America linebacker, also made the Dean’s List and was a co-recipient with Spiller of the Vickery Hall Award.

Michael Hamlin was named the Most Valuable Player of the Defense.

Other awards are listed below.

2008 Clemson Football Awards Summary

Offensive Awards Solid Rock Award – Quarterbacks: Cullen Harper Solid Rock Award – Running Backs: James Davis Solid Rock Award – Wide Receiver: Aaron Kelly Solid Rock Award – Tight Ends: Michael Palmer Solid Rock Award – Offensive Line: Thomas Austin Hustle Award: Tyler Grisham 12th Man Award: Bobby Hutchinson Iron Man Award: Chad Diehl Rookie of the Year: Mason Cloy Special Teams: Nelson Faerber Scout Team: Rennie Moore Offensive MVP: C.J. Spiller

Defensive Awards Solid Rock Award – Defensive Back: Chris Chancellor Solid Rock Award – Outside LB: DeAndre McDaniel Solid Rock Award – Inside LB: Kavell Conner Solid Rock Award – Defensive Line: Dorell Scott Hustle Award: Jock McKissic 12th Man Award: Byron Maxwell Iron Man Award: Chris Clemons Rookie of the Year: Brandon Maye Special Teams: Byron Maxwell Scout Team Player of the Year: Preston Stone Defensive MVP: Michael Hamlin

Specialist of the Year: Mark Buchholz

Academic Awards Top GPA – Freshman: Dawson Zimmerman Top GPA – Sophomore: Caleb Simmons Top GPA – Junior: Michael Wade Top GPA – Senior: Brian Hill Top GPA – Team: Jimmy Maners Vickery Hall Academic Award: Brandon Maye

Strength All-Americans: Chris ClemonsStrength Room Dedication Awards: Thomas Austin