Search Shop
Swinney One of 10 Finalists for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year

Swinney One of 10 Finalists for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year

BOSTON, MA – Successful college football coaches understand their role as a leader and mentor extends well beyond the field on Saturdays. After all, they are ultimately responsible for helping enrich the lives of student-athletes by exhibiting a commitment to both on-field success and off-field priorities. Today, Liberty Mutual Insurance is celebrating those coaches by announcing the 25 finalists for the 2013 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award, which honors coaches who best exemplify responsibility, integrity, sportsmanship and excellence both on and off the field. Liberty Mutual and National Football Foundation Chairman Archie Manning announced the finalists at the NFF 2013 College Hall of Fame Class induction in New York City.

Now in its eighth year, the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award is the only college football-coaching award that promotes both charity and scholarship through its winners. A winner in each of the four NCAA divisions will receive $50,000 to support his favorite charities and a $20,000 donation from Liberty Mutual to his school’s alumni association for scholarship. Since 2006, Liberty Mutual has distributed more than $1.8 million to over 100 charities and colleges across the country through its Coach of the Year Award program.

“Throughout my many years in the football community, I’ve seen plenty of coaches make a significant impact on the athletes they lead and the communities they touch,” said Archie Manning, Chairman of the National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame. “The Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year award celebrates those coaches who truly make a difference in both these respects. These 25 finalists exemplify strong leadership skills and character that inspires the very best out of everyone they come in contact with; it’s fitting that fans around the country have recognized them.”

Fans can now vote daily for a finalist in each division through December 22 at and

2013 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Finalists (listed alphabetically) Football Bowl Subdivision: Art Briles, Baylor David Cutcliffe, Duke Mark Dantonio, Michigan State Todd Graham, Arizona State Gus Malzahn, Auburn Urban Meyer, Ohio State Jim Mora, UCLA Bill O’Brien, Penn State Nick Saban, Alabama Dabo Swinney, Clemson