Search Shop
Spiller Receives Two More Honors

Spiller Receives Two More Honors

Jan. 15, 2010

CLEMSON, SC — C.J. Spiller continues to pile up awards, even after his Clemson career is over. On Friday, the now Clemson graduate was named a first-team All-American by for his performance in 2009 and was named to’s All-Decade team of College Football.

Spiller was one of four players who were seniors in 2009 to make the All-Decade team. The others were Tim Tebow of Florida at quarterback, Jermaine Gresham of Oklahoma at tight end and Ndamukong Suh of Nebraska at defensive tackle.

Spiller made first-team All-American according to every team announced this year, just the third unanimous All-American in Clemson history. The others are Terry Kinard (1982) and Gaines Adams (2006).

Spiller was named to both teams as a kick returner. This year he set an ACC record with four kickoff returns for touchdowns, giving him seven for his career, an NCAA record. He had five total kick returns for scores this year as he also had a punt return for a score against Boston College.

Spiller finished the year with 21 total touchdowns and was the only player in the nation to score a touchdown in every one of his team’s games this year. He also finished the year fourth in the nation in all-purpose running yards per game and was third in kickoff return average.

As a running back, Spiller had 1212 rushing yards and 503 in receiving yards, the first player in ACC history with at least 1000 yards rushing and 500 receiving in the same year. All-Decade Team

Offense Pos. – Name, School (Years) QB – Tim Tebow, Florida (2006-09) RB – Darren McFadden, Arkansas (2005-07) RB – Adrian Peterson, Oklahoma (2004-06) WR – Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech (2007-08) WR – Larry Fitzgerald, Pittsburgh (2002-03) TE – Jermaine Gresham, Oklahoma (2006-09) OT – Jake Long, Michigan (2004-07) OT – Bryant McKinnie, Miami (FL) (2000-01) OG – Andre Gurode, Colorado (2000-01) OG – Steve Hutchinson, Michigan (2000) C – Lecharles Bentley, Ohio State (2000-01)

Defense DE – David Pollack, Georgia (2001-04) DT – Tommie Harris, Oklahoma (2001-03) DT – Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska (2006-09) DE – Terrell Suggs, Arizona State (2000-02) LB – A.J. Hawk, Ohio State (2002-05) LB – Derrick Johnson, Texas (2001-04) LB – Patrick Willis, Mississippi (2003-06) CB – Antoine Cason, Arizona (2004-07) CB – Carlos Rogers, Auburn (2001-04) FS – Ed Reed, Miami (FL) (2000-01) SS – Roy Williams, Oklahoma (2000-01)

Specialists PK – Billy Bennett, Georgia (2002-03) P – Dan Sepulveda, Baylor (2003-06)KR – C.J. Spiller, Clemson (2006-09) PR – Wes Welker, Texas Tech (2000-03) AP – Reggie Bush, Southern Cal (2003-05)