Search Shop
Clemson Holds Awards Banquet

Clemson Holds Awards Banquet

CLEMSON, S.C. – Deshaun Watson, Wayne Gallman, Shaq Lawson and Greg Huegel were all honored as most valuable players of the 2015 Clemson football team on Saturday evening at the program’s annual awards banquet. The event, held at the indoor practice facility, recognized the achievements of Clemson’s 2015 team that finished No. 2 in the nation with a 14-1 record, captured the ACC Atlantic Division title, the overall ACC championship, the Orange Bowl championship and a trip to the national championship game.

Watson and Gallman won Tiger Pride Awards (MVP) for the offense, while Lawson won the same honor for the defense. Huegel won the Tiger Pride Award for the special teams. Watson became the first player in FBS history to pass for 4,000 yards and rush for 1,000 yards in a season. Gallman set a Clemson record with 1,527 rushing yards. Lawson led the nation in tackles for loss (25.5) from his defensive end position, and Huegel led the nation in field goals (27).

A total of 44 different players won awards during the program. Charone Peake, Eric Mac Lain, Stanton Seckinger, Adam Choice, B.J. Goodson and Travis Blanks took home three each.

Former Clemson All-American Jerry Butler was the recipient of the Brian Dawkins Lifetime Achievement Award, an accolade presented each year to a former Tiger letterman for outstanding achievement after graduating from Clemson.

The evening concluded with the presentation of the permanent captains for the 2015 season. Those players were Mac Lain, Blanks, Peake, D.J. Reader, Seckinger and Goodson.

The award winners are listed below:

Tiger Pride Awards (MVP): Deshaun Watson (QB), Wayne Gallman (RB), Shaq Lawson (DE), Greg Huegel (PK).

Solid Rock Position Awards: Wayne Gallman (RB), Jordan Leggett (TE), Charone Peake (WR), Eric Mac Lain (OL), Deshaun Watson (QB), Cordrea Tankersley (DB), Mackensie Alexander (DB), Kevin Dodd (DE), Shaq Lawson (DE), Carlos Watkins (DT), B.J. Goodson (LB).

Hustle Awards: Hunter Renfrow (WR), Zac Brooks (RB), T.J. Green (DB).

12th Man Awards: Maverick Morris (OL), Christian Wilkins (DT), Dorian O’Daniel (LB).

Iron Man Awards: Artavis Scott (WR), Stanton Seckinger (TE), Ben Boulware (LB), Kevin Dodd (DE).

Most Improved Awards: Jay Guillermo (C), T.J. Green (DB), Scott Pagano (DT), Cordrea Tankersley (DB).

Rookie-of-the-Year:Mitch Hyatt (OT), Hunter Renfrow (WR), Deon Cain (WR), Christian Wilkins (DT).

Special Teams Players-of-the-Year: Garrett Williams (TE), Dorian O’Daniel (LB), Jadar Johnson (DB).

Future Impact Player Awards: Adam Choice (RB), Ray-Ray McCloud (WR), Van Smith (DB), Austin Bryant (DE).

PAW Awards: Zac Brooks (RB), Ryan Norton (C), Scott Pagano (DT), Roderick Byers (DT).

Spiritual Leadership Awards: Travis Blanks, Stanton Seckinger.

P.A.T. Award Winner-of-the-Year: Travis Blanks.

Brian Dawkins Lifetime Achievement Award: Jerry Butler.

Highest GPA Awards: Judah Davis (Freshmen), Adam Choice (Sophomores), David Estes (Juniors), Quintin Hall (Seniors), Overall Team: Alex Spence.

Vickery Hall Awards: Kelly Bryant, Jordan Leggett, Jabril Robinson, Richard Yeargin.

Strength All-Americans: Eric Mac Lain, B.J. Goodson.

Strength Dedication Awards: Ben Boulware, Charone Peake.

2015 Permanent Captains:Travis Blanks, Eric Mac Lain, Charone Peake, D.J. Reader, Stanton Seckinger, B.J. Goodson.