Clemson Football Awards Presented

Clemson Football Awards Presented

Jan. 17, 2011

Photo Gallery

CLEMSON, SC – The Clemson football program held its annual awards banquet on Saturday night, Jan. 15 at the Madren Center on the Clemson campus. Awards were presented for performance on the field, in the strength training facility and in the classroom.

Da’Quan Bowers was named the MVP on defense and the overall team MVP. The first-team unanimous All-American led the nation in quarterback sacks with 15.5 and was second in tackles for loss with 26. He established a school record with nine consecutive games with a sack and finished the season second on the team in tackles with 74.

Jamie Harper was named the most valuable player on offense. Harper led the team in rushing yards (760), yards from scrimmage (1088) and all-purpose yards (1131). He was second in touchdowns with 10 and had 35 receptions, second best in school history for a running back.


Offensive Awards

Solid Rock Awards (Most dependable, consistent and solid by position) Running Back – Andre Ellington Wide Receiver – Jaron Brown Tight End – Dwayne Allen Quarterback – Kyle Parker Offensive Line – Chris Hairston

Hustle Award – Chad Diehl 12th Man Award – Mason Cloy and Brandon Ford Ion Man Award – Landon Walker Rookie of the Year – DeAndre Hopkins Future Impact Player – Tajh Boyd Special Teams – Mike Wade Scout Team Player – Joe Craig and Demont Buice MVP – Jamie Harper

Defensive Awards

Solid Rock Awards (Most dependable, consistent and solid by position) Defensive Back – Marcus Gilchrist Defensive Tackle – Jarvis Jenkins Defensive End – Andre Branch Linebacker – Corico Hawkins

Hustle Award – Rashard Hall 12th Man Award – Xavier Brewer Iron Man Award – DeAndre McDaniel Rookie of the Year – Quandon Christian Future Impact Player – Malliciah Goodman Special Teams – Byron Maxwell Scout Team – Ryan Pruitt Most Valuable – Da’Quan Bowers

Specialist of the YearDawson Zimmerman, Punter

Overall Team MVP – Da’Quan Bowers

Academic Awards Highest GPA Freshman – Chandler Catanzaro Highest GPA Sophomore – Matt Skinner Highest GPA Junior – Brandon Maye Highest GPA Senior – Caleb Simmons Highest GPTA Team – Dawson Zimmerman

Vickery Hall Awards (Given to individuals that exemplify the values of Vickery Hall) Jonathan Willard, Andre Ellington

Spiritual Leadership Award – Xavier Dye

Strength Training Awards Strength All-American – Marcus Gilchrist Strength Dedication Award – Marcus Gilchrist and Chad Diehl

Permanent Captains – Chris Hairston, Mike Wade