Search Shop
Women’s Soccer Program Recognizes Award Winners at Annual Banquet

Women’s Soccer Program Recognizes Award Winners at Annual Banquet

The Clemson women’s soccer team held its annual awards banquet on Saturday, April 18 to officially wrap up a successful 2014 campaign. The team, coaches, support staff and members of their families celebrated both academic and athletic achievements from the season.

On the academic side, an impressive 17 members received Academic Honor Roll recognition, which played no small part in the team having a 3.42 GPA in season in the fall of 2014. In addition, six Tigers received ACC All-Academic Team honors. Senior Katelyn Reeve, sophomores Tori Andreski, Emily Byorth, Gabby Byorth and Kailen Sheridan and freshman Shannon Horgan were all honored.

Five players were recognized for outstanding performance during ACC competition, including sophomore goalkeeper Kailen Sheridan who was named First Team All-ACC, becoming the first Tiger to be named to the all-conference first team since the 2007 season. Sophomores Catrina Atanda (Second Team) and Gabby Byorth (Third Team) were also named to the all-conference team, while rookies Salma Anastasio and Shannon Horgan were named to the ACC All-Freshman Team.

Receiving the Team Leadership Award was junior Allie Kington. Kington was one of the team captains this season, and addition to providing leadership on the field, has been very involved in the team’s off the field activities as well, helping to coordinate and lead community service activities and other events.

Goal of the Year honors went to Emily Byorth for her super strike at Pittsburgh on Oct. 26.  Byorth was given a lot of space from defenders and dribbled the ball in from past midfield before firing a strike into the back of the goal to help the Tigers to a 2-1 conference win on the road.

Kyra Lobbins, Assistant Director of Student-Athlete Development, presented the Bill D’Andrea Tiger Paw Award, which recognizes outstanding commitment and selflessness within the team culture. This year’s recipient was sophomore Abby Jones.

The Newcomer of the Year award went to freshman Shannon Horgan. The rookie played in 19 games for the Tigers, scoring two goals and contributing 10 points, tied for third most on the Clemson team.

Clemson’s volunteer assistant coach, Julie Carlson, presented the Deliah Arrington Offensive Most Valuable Player award to Catrina Atanda. The sophomore led the Tigers in scoring with nine goals and 20 points on the season in 19 games.

Two players shared the Defensive MVP award. Gabby Byorth and senior Savannah Coiner were both honored for their work in the Clemson backfield that allowed only 10 goals all season. Byorth played in 18 games while Coiner played in all 19.

The Coaches Award was presented to two players as well. Sophomores Emily Byorth and Katie Sprouse were honored with this award.

Earning the team’s Most Valuable Player Award was Sheridan. Sheridan has 47 saves and 10 goals allowed in 17 games and almost 1500 minutes in goal. The 10 goals allowed set a new Clemson record for fewest goals allowed in a single season.

A complete list of the 2014 award winners is below.

Most Valuable Player – Kailen SheridanDeliah Arrington Offensive MVP – Catrina AtandaCo-Defensive MVPs – Gabby Byorth & Savannah CoinerNewcomer of the Year – Shannon HorganCoaches Award – Katie Sprouse & Emily ByorthTeam Leadership Award – Allie KingtonBill D’Andrea Tiger PAW Award – Abby JonesAll-ACC- Kailen Sheridan, Catrina Atanda, Gabby Byorth, Salma Anastasio, Shannon HorganAcademic All-ACC – Tori Andreski, Emily Byorth, Gabby Byorth, Katelyn Reeve, Kailen Sheridan, Shannon HorganACC Player of the Week (Aug. 26) – Tori AndreskiNSCAA/Disney National Player of the Week (Aug. 26) – Tori Andreski