Search Shop
Clemson’s Doubles Team Loses in Quarterfinal Round

Clemson’s Doubles Team Loses in Quarterfinal Round

Oct. 19, 2009

CHAPEL HILL, NCThe third seeded team of Donato and Hardy defeated the Tigers¹ Alvarez and DiFazio 8-6.

In Singles, Clemson’s Wes Moran lost to Sawyer Duncan of Furman 6-3, 5-7, 6-1 in the Round of 64. The Tigers¹ Derek DiFazio lost to fifth-seeded Henrique Cunha of Duke 6-2, 6-2.

Rok Bizjak of Clemson advanced over David Hopkins of Wake Forest in a default because of injury. He later lost to 17th-seeded Jose Hernandez of North Carolina 4-6, 6-4, 6-4 in the Round of 32. Also Carlos Alvarez defeated Walker Lyons of Davidson 6-2, 6-2 Torsten Wietoska of Duke defeated Alvarez in the round of 32 7-5, 6-4.

SinglesFirst Round (Round of 128) Wesley Moran (Clemson) d. Jack Waissen (N.C. Central) 6-4, 6-1 Derek DiFazio (Clemson) d. Alberto Rojas (Elon) 7-5, 6-7, 6-4 Rok Bizjak (Clemson) d. Max Ando Hirsh (UNC-Wilmington) 6-2, 6-2 Carlos Alvarez (Clemson) received Bye

Second Round (Round of 64) Sawyer Duncan (Furman) d. Wes Moran (Clemson) 6-3, 5-7, 6-1 Henrique Cunha (Duke ) d. Derek DiFazio (Clemson) 6-2, 6-2 Rok Bizjak (Clemson) d. David Hopkins (Wake Forest) Default-Injury Carlos Alvarez (Clemson) d. Walker Lyons (Davidson) 6-2, 6-2

Third Round (Round of 32) Jose Hernandez (UNC) d. Rok Bizjak (Clemson) 4-6, 6-4, 6-4 Torsten Wietoska (Duke) d. Carlos Alvarez (Clemson) 7-5, 6-4

DoublesFirst RoundRok Bizjak/Wesley Moran (Clemson) d. Adrien Langeard/Matthew Waissen (UNC-Asheville) 8-6, Round of 64 d. Cameron Ahari and William Parker (UNC) 9-8, Round of 32 lost to Alain Michel/Torsten Wietoska (Duke) 8-6, Round of 16

First RoundCarlos Alvarez/Derek DiFazio (Clemson) d. Kosta Blank/Kinshuk Sharma (UNC-Wilmington) 8-3, Round of 64 d. Amogh Prabhakar/Conner Sherwood (Wake Forest) 8-6, Round of 32 d. Ivan Cressoni/Christopher Sheehan (South Carolina) 8-3, Round of 16 lost to Clay Donato/Stefan Hardy (North Carolina) 8-6