Search Shop
Sutherland Named to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Sutherland Named to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

CLEMSON, S.C. – Clemson goalkeeper Jonny Sutherland has been named to the 2018 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List, as announced by the United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club on Thursday. The Chester, England native is one of 32 players on the Men’s Watch List that includes just four goalkeepers.

Sutherland transferred to Clemson after graduating in three years from ETSU, where he had a decorated career. In his three years as the Buccaneers’ starting keeper, he was awarded SoCon Goalkeeper of the Year twice (2016, 2017) and became the first player in ETSU men’s soccer history to earn All-American honors when he was named to the third team by the United Soccer Coaches in 2017. Sutherland is set to officially begin his Clemson career on Friday, when his No. 11 Tigers face the No. 10 Duke Blue Devils for their first preseason match of the 2018 season.


About the Award:
The MAC Hermann Trophy, presented by World Wide Technology, is the most prestigious individual award in college soccer and is presented annually to the most outstanding male and female players of the year. This year’s winners will be announced Friday, Jan. 4, 2019 at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

The MAC Hermann Trophy Watch Lists are compiled by members of the United Soccer Coaches Men’s and Women’s NCAA Division I All-America Committees. Fifteen semifinalists will be named for both the men’s and women’s MAC Hermann Trophy near the end of the college season based on voting by NCAA Division I coaches and from those candidates, three finalists will ultimately be placed on the ballot for the coveted award. For more information about the MAC Hermann Trophy, including a list of past winners, visit