Three Tiger Rowers Earn All-America Honors

June 5, 2009

Clemson, SC – The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) announced on Friday that Clemson rowers Hilary Cumbest, Brittany Cummings, and Jessica Leidecker have been named to the Division 1 Pocock All-America Team. Leidecker was named to the first-team, while Cumbest and Cummings were second-team selections.

All three rowers were members of the Varsity 8+ boat this season. The crew finished the season ranked 12th in the nation and competed in the NCAA Championship for just the second time in school history. The Varsity 8+ reached the petite finals of the national championship and finished in 12th place, which marks best finish in Clemson history. The Varsity 8+ also earned a variety of honors from the ACC, most notably being named the ACC Crew of the Year after winning the conference championship. The crew was also named the ACC Crew of the Week twice for it’s outstanding performances throughout the season.

Leidecker, a senior, spent the season stroking Varsity 8+ boat. In addition to being named first-team All-America, she was a first-team All -Region honoree, as well as an All-ACC selection. This marks the second consecutive season that Leidecker has garnered All-America honors, as she was a second-team selection last season. She becomes just the third Clemson rower to be a two-time All-American.

Cummings, a junior, also garnered first-team All-Region honors this season in addition to her second-team All-America selection. She joined five other Clemson rowers on the All-ACC team this season as well.

Cumbest rowed in the bow seat for the Varsity 8+ this season. As a senior, Cumbest earned second-team All-Region honors, and was also named to the All-ACC squad.

“It is a great individual honor to be named an All-American. Receiving three selections is a great statement about Clemson rowing and where it is going,” said Head Coach Richard Ruggieri. “I am sure that all three rowers are thankful for the opportunity to receive this award and compete with a team that shares their individual success.”

This marks the first time in program history that three rowers were named to the All-America team in the same year. Only five other Clemson rowers have received this prestigious honor in the past.

2009 1st Team All-America Award Winners

Liene Bertasjus – University of Southern California

Desiree Burns – University of Virginia

Jennifer Cromwell – University of Virginia

Emily Dreissigacker – Dartmouth College

Adrienne Fritsch – Stanford University

Tess Gerrand – Yale University

Sara Hendershot – Princeton University

Susi Herbrand – Ohio State University

Ame Hicks – Oregon State University

Lou Kinder – University of California, Berkeley

Ashley Kroll – University of Michigan

Jessica Leidecker – Clemson University

Jenna Levy, coxswain – Stanford University

Esther Lofgren – Harvard University, Radcliffe Crew

Elle Logan – Stanford University

Hannah Malvin – Brown University

Adrienne Martelli – University of Washington

Meredith Mead – Columbia University

Iva Obradovic – University of California, Berkeley

Taylor Ritzel – Yale University

Erika Roddy – Stanford University

Sarah Schmidt – Michigan State University

Theresa Shields – University of Wisconsin

Jessica Stage – Brown University

2009 2nd Team All-America Award Winners

Amanda Chase – University of Virginia

Karen Colwell – University of Michigan

Hilary Cumbest – Clemson University

Brittany Cummings – Clemson University

Peta Leigh Dakyns – Ohio State University

Alison Fishman – Princeton University

Annie Gayman – Princeton University

Elena Humphreys – University of California, Berkeley

Laura Huppert – Harvard University, Radcliffe Crew

Jenny Kossowsky – Oregon State University

Grace Luczak – Stanford University

Kayleigh Mack – University of Washington

Adrienne Mecham – University of Michigan

Katy Milton – University of California, Berkeley

Lauren Nowinski – University of California, Berkeley

Eleanor Pascall – Dartmouth College

Christina Person – Yale University

Emily Regan – Michigan State University

Anna Specjalska – University of Southern California

Augusta Stratos – University of Virginia

Ashlee Vilmo – University of Minnesota