Search Shop
Rowing Finishes Fourth at ACC Rowing Championship

Rowing Finishes Fourth at ACC Rowing Championship

April 22, 2006

Photo Gallery

Results in PDF FormatDownload Free Acrobat Reader

The University of Virginia rowing team claimed the seventh annual ACC Championship on Saturday at Lake Hartwell. The Cavaliers swept all four races on an overcast morning in Clemson. Virginia has won the ACC Championship all seven years it has been held.

The Cavaliers won the team title with 60 points, followed by Duke in second with 43 points. The third place team on Saturday was Miami with 34 points, followed by Clemson with 30. In fifth, Boston College scored 25 points in its first-ever conference regatta, while North Carolina was sixth with 17 points.

The first race of the morning was the varsity 4+. Virginia placed first in a time of 7:23.4, with Clemson second at 7:40.3. Duke came in third place with a time of 7:46.5, while Miami was fourth in 7:49.6. Boston College (7:50.7) and North Carolina (8:16.2) rounded out the field in that event.

The novice 8+ was also claimed by the Cavaliers, with a time of 6:50.1. Boston College finished second (7:03.5), ahead of third-place North Carolina (7:10.4). Miami came home fourth after crossing the finish line in 7:13.8, while Clemson was fifth at 7:15.3.

In the second varsity 8+, Virginia won with a time of 6:36.6. Duke was runner-up after crossing the finish line in 6:50.8. Coming in third in that race was Boston College (6:55.8), while Miami (6:57.7) was fourth. Clemson finished fifth with a time of 7:01.8, while North Carolina rounded out the field with a time of 7:04.7.

The final race of the morning was the varsity 8+. The Cavaliers won an incredible sprint over the last 500 meters over Duke. Virginia finished with a time of 6:31.0, while Duke was right behind at 6:31.9. In third place was Miami at 6:39.1, while Clemson was fourth in 6:43.3. North Carolina (6:44.5) and Boston College (6:47.4) rounded out the field in the featured race.

The 14-member All-ACC team was comprised of coxswain Caitlin Mixter (Virginia), Kerry Maher (Virginia), Melanie Kok (Virginia), Sara Lippa (Virginia), Crystal MacLeod (Virginia), Lia Hart (Duke), Caroline Wray (Duke), Tonia Boock (Duke), Rachel Clausing (Miami), Laura Coltman (Miami), Sarah Cooper (Clemson), Jaclyn Rath (Clemson), Bridget Regan (Boston College), and Lisy McIntee (North Carolina).

Duke head coach Robyn Horner was named ACC Coach of the Year. She guided the Blue Devils to a runner-up finish despite not having a novice 8+ crew entered on Saturday. Virginia’s second varsity 8+ earned ACC Crew of the Year honors. That squad consisted of coxswain Michelle Ellison, Mindy Fiesler, Mieke Pitts, Katrin Sydlik, Andria Haneman, Kelsie Chaudoin, Sara Lippa, Anna Samaha, and Crystal MacLeod.