Search Shop
Men?s Soccer Program Celebrates Historic 2015 Season, Announces Award Winners

Men?s Soccer Program Celebrates Historic 2015 Season, Announces Award Winners

CLEMSON, S.C. – The Clemson men’s soccer program held its annual awards banquet on Saturday, April 2 at the scenic Outdoor Lab on the Clemson University campus. It was a festive atmosphere, as the Tigers had plenty to celebrate, including a run to the NCAA National Championship against Stanford, as well as many individual athletic and academic accomplishments.

The evening began with dinner, followed by opening comments from Associate Athletic Director & Men’s Soccer Sport Supervisor Kyle Young, and the presentation of awards.

Senior goalkeeper Andrew Tarbell was named the Dalton Family Most Valuable Player. Tarbell, also an All-ACC selection, started all 24 games in 2015, recorded 2,244 total minutes and tallied 84 saves. Tarbell led the team in back to back strong penalty shootout showings to advance to the 2015 NCAA National Championship.

Senior defender Kyle Fisher was the Defensive Player of the Year and senior forward T.J. Casner was the Offensive Player of the Year for 2015. Fisher started 20 games and the ACC Defender of the year, anchoring the Clemson back line. Casner scored a team-best ten goals in 2015, including six game winners. Casner was also named to the All-ACC First Team.

Freshman defender Patrick Bunk-Andersen earned the Newcomer of the Year award after posting 2,153 minutes, third-most on the team. Bunk-Andersen was named to Named to TopDrawerSoccer’s Freshman Best XI First Team Named and the ACC All-Freshman Team. Redshirt senior forward Kyle Murphy, for the second year in a row received the Scout Team Player of the Year award, awarded to a player who showed unwavering commitment to preparing the team for upcoming matches throughout the year.

Manager Keith Tormey, senior Paul Clowes and junior Iman Mafi were other recipients of awards for 2015. Tormey, a senior Health Science major and the son of Pearse Tormey, a four-year letterwinner for the Tigers from 1987-90 and member of the 1987 National Championship team was presented this year’s service award. While Clowes earned the 12th Man Solid Orange Award and Iman Mafi was awarded the Coaches Award.

David Torris was the recipient of the second ever I.M. Ibrahim Award. The award was presented by Ibrahim’s widow, Julie and previous award winner Pearse Tormey. The I.M. Ibrahim Award is presented to an alumnus who has made a significant contribution to the program reflecting the passion and values Coach Ibrahim embodied during his Clemson career.

Next, seniors John Cajka, Paul Clowes and manager Keith Tormey took the stage to speak on behalf of the senior class. Cajka, from Greer, South Carolina, gave a humorous speech thanking and recognizing all those involved with the program throughout the season, including members of the support staff, his teammates and especially, his coaches. Clowes and Tormey followed with heartfelt speeches about the highs and lows of the 2015 season. The other four members of the senior class – Murphey, Fisher, Tarbell and Casner– are currently playing professional soccer and were unable to attend, but sent words of thanks and encouragement to those present at the banquet via video.

Head Coach Mike Noonan finished the night by saying, “the best is yet to come and we have unfinished business.”


All-ACC Team

Paul Clowes – First Team

Kyle Fisher – First Team

Andrew Tarbell – First Team

T.J. Casner– First Team

Iman Mafi– Third Team

Oliver Shannon- Third Team

Patrick Bunk-Andersen- All-Freshman

ACC Midfielder of the Year

Paul Clowes

ACC Defender of the Year

Kyle Fisher

College Cup All-Tournament Team

Paul Clowes

Kyle Fisher

Andrew Tarbell

NSCAA All-South Region Team

Kyle Fisher – First Team

Andrew Tarbell – First Team

Paul Clowes- First Team

T.J. Casner- First Team

NSCAA All-American Team

Kyle Fisher – First Team

Andrew Tarbell – Second Team

Paul Clowes– Second Team

T.J. Casner – Third Team

12th Man/Solid Orange Award

Paul Clowes – Senior Midfielder

An individual on the team who pursued excellence on and off the field by representing the men’s soccer program in a positive manner.

Service Award

Keith Tormey – Team Manager

An individual that is external to the team who demonstrated outstanding service directly to the men’s soccer program through their dedication, hard work and efforts.

GPA Awards

Freshman – Trey Lanlois & Andrew Burnikel

Sophomore – Chris Heijjer

Junior – Michael Zierhoffer

Senior – Andrew Tarbell

Newcomer of the Year Award

Patrick Bunk-Andersen

Scout Team Player of the Year

Kyle Murphy

A player that was committed to preparing the team for upcoming matches on a daily basis, pushed the starting eleven in training and was always ready when called upon.

Coach’s Achievement Award

Iman Mafi

A player whom the coaches feel went above and beyond what was asked in order to unite the team throughout the season.

Defensive Player of the Year

Kyle Fisher

Offensive Player of the Year

T.J. Casner

I.M. Ibrahim Award

David Torris

This award shall be given annually to an alumnus who has made a significant contribution to Clemson Men’s Soccer that reflects the passion and values that Coach Ibrahim left during his career as a coach, educator, entrepreneur and champion. The award recipient will be an ambassador for the year for Clemson and the men’s soccer program in memory of Coach Ibrahim.

Dalton Family Most Valuable Player Award

Andrew Tarbell