Search Shop
Clemson Women’s Rowing Wins Varsity 4 Event at the Rivanna Romp

Clemson Women’s Rowing Wins Varsity 4 Event at the Rivanna Romp

Nov. 13, 2011

CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA – Clemson rowing finished out the fall training segment with a head race against Old Dominion, Penn and Virginia on Sunday morning in Charlottesville, VA.

“We had a great fall training season, and I am really proud of our team,” said Clemson head coach Robbie Tenenbaum. “All of our boats raced hard today, and we finished ahead of both Penn and Old Dominion, but fell to Virginia. We know that Virginia is one of the top teams in the country, and our team is prepared to do the work necessary this winter to be ready to race with the best programs in the country.”

The morning ended with a Tiger victory in the Varsity 4 event, which saw Virginia, Old Dominion, Penn and Clemson put out their top athletes for a 2nd race. The Clemson boat of Coxswain Laura D’Urso, Sam Duggan, Becca Brown and Julia Ost finished 1st out of 20 crews. Virginia finished in 2nd about 4 seconds back.

“I know that this gives us confidence as we head into the winter and spring,” said Tenenbaum.

Crews start in head races about 10-15 seconds apart and then race against the clock.

“We passed two other crews early in the race, and this gave us some confidence as we tried to catch Virginia,” said Varsity 4 Stroke Laura D’Urso. “We knew we were moving well, and had a real boost as we past the last boat before Virginia who started 3 places ahead of us: It was a great end to the fall season.”

“Our entire staff has done a great job this fall getting everyone prepared- and special thanks goes out to our strength coach Josh Hudak and our trainer Meghan Reed,” Tenenbaum said. “They put in really long hours every day to help us to be the best we can be.”

“We are a very young team with eight freshman or sophomores in the first two Varsity 8’s,” Tenenbaum continued. “We are going to keep getting faster as the year goes on.”

The Tigers open their spring season on Lake Hartwell against Eastern Michigan at 9:00 am on March 3rd, 2010.

Click here for full results.