Clemson Women’s Rowing to Participate in 2011 NCAA Championships

Clemson Women’s Rowing to Participate in 2011 NCAA Championships

May 25, 2011

CLEMSON, SC – The Clemson women’s rowing team will travel to Sacramento, CA to take part in the 2011 NCAA Championships. The event, hosted by Washington State University, will take place from May 27-29 at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center in Gold River, CA. Click here to watch the NCAA Championships live on

The team championship is composed of 16 teams and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers.

This is the Tigers’ third-straight team selection and the 1st Varsity 8’s fourth-straight selection. In 2009, Clemson’s Varsity 4 captured the school’s first-ever national championship.

Clemson’s 1st Varsity 8 will compete in the second of three heats and will face #12 Dartmouth, seventh-ranked Yale, sixth-ranked Brown, and #2 California.

The Tigers’ 2nd Varsity 8 will compete in the first of three heats and will face #8 Ohio State, #6 Brown and top-ranked Princeton. The heat also includes 14th-ranked Michigan, whom the Tigers’ defeated in the ACC/Big Ten Challenge in April.

Clemson’s Varsity 4 will compete in the first of three heats against #2 California, #1 Princeton, #8 Ohio State and #10 Michigan State.

Weekly Rowing Top-20 Poll The Tigers dropped two spots to #13 in this week’s CRCA/USRowing Coaches Poll. Virginia still remains the only other ranked ACC team in the top 20 at #3.

1. Princeton University 2. University of California 3. University of Virginia 4. Stanford University 5. University of Southern California 6. Brown University 7. Yale University 8. The Ohio State University 9. University of Washington 10. Michigan State University 11. Washington State University 12. Dartmouth College13. Clemson University 14. University of Michigan 15. University of Wisconsin 16. University of Texas 17. Harvard University 18. Cornell University 19. University of California at Los Angeles 20. University of Tennessee

Not Ranked But Receiving Votes: University of Notre Dame, University of Minnesota, University of Pennsylvania, Duke University, Columbia University, Indiana University, Oregon State University, Northeastern University and University of Oklahoma