Van Adrichem Named to Inaugural All-ACC Academic Women’s Tennis Team

Van Adrichem Named to Inaugural All-ACC Academic Women’s Tennis Team

June 27, 2006

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Clemson student-athlete Federica van Adrichem earned a selection to the inaugural All- Atlantic Coast Conference Academic Women’s Tennis Team, as announced Tuesday by Commissioner John D. Swofford. All 12 league schools are represented on the team. To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

Van Adrichem, a freshman from Amersfoort, The Netherlands, reached the round of 32 in the NCAA Singles Championships this past May, while compiling a 22-14 overall record for the 2005-06 season. She was ranked #55 in the final Fila/ITA Tennis poll and is pursuing a degree in history.

Duke led all league teams with six selections, while ACC champion Georgia Tech was second with four. Boston College, Clemson, Florida State, Maryland, Miami, North Carolina, NC State, Virginia, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest each had one selection to the team.

Georgia Tech’s Kristi Miller, winner of the Honda Award for women’s tennis and the Intercollegiate Tennis Association’s National Player to Watch, and Miami’s Audra Cohen, the ITA National Player of the Year, both earned spots on the team. Cohen and Miller finished the season ranked 1 and 2 in the nation, respectively. Both players earned All-American status in both singles and doubles play. Miller was selected to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America first team.

Ten members of the All-ACC team earned spots on the All-Academic squad. In addition to Miller and Cohen, Duke’s Jackie Carleton and ACC Freshman of the Year Melissa Mang, Georgia Tech’s Lyndsay Shosho, Florida State’s Anna Rynarzewska, Maryland’s Ramona But, NC State’s Shone Lee, Virginia’s Kristen James and Virginia Tech’s Inga Beermann are also represented on the All-Academic Team. But was named the East Region’s ITA Senior Player of the Year, while Beermann was named the ITA Rookie Player of the Year in the same region.

Name School Year Major
Szilvia Szegedi BC Sr. Communications
Federica van Adrichem CU Fr. History
Jackie Carleton DU Sr. Political Science
Clelia Deltour DU So. Psychology
Tara Iyer DU Fr. Undeclared
Melissa Mang DU Fr. Undeclared
Jessi Robinson DU Fr. Undeclared
Jennifer Zika DU Jr. Economics
Ania Rynarzewska FS Fr. Business
Kelly Anderson GT Sr. Management
Kristi Miller GT So. History, Technology & Society
Lyndsay Shosho GT Sr. Management
Alison Silverio GT Jr. Management
Ramona But MD Sr. Economics
Audra Cohen UM So. Sports Adminstration
Sara Anundsen NC Jr. Management & Society
Shona Lee ST Fr. Business Management
Kristen James VA Sr. Environmental Science
Inga Beermann VT Fr. Architecture
Ana Jerman WF Fr. Undeclared