Search Shop
Hooters Collegiate Match Play Championship Seeding Set

Hooters Collegiate Match Play Championship Seeding Set

Oct. 25, 2002

NORMAN, Okla. – Seeding for the 16-team field Hooters Collegiate Match Play Championship at Barefoot Resort was announced today by the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA). The inaugural tournament will be held November 8-10, 2002 on the Dye Course at Barefoot Resort, Myrtle Beach, S.C.

The first round pairings are: (1) Clemson vs. (16) Purdue; (2) Augusta State vs. (15) Colorado; (3) Texas vs. (14) Tulsa; (4) Minnesota vs. (13) NC State; (5) Arizona vs. (12) Pepperdine; (6) TCU vs. (11) Georgia Tech; (7) Florida vs. (10) Washington; (8) Oklahoma State vs. (9) Toledo.

“The tournament seeding committee did an excellent job balancing the brackets and creating compelling first round match-ups,” said GCAA Executive Director Gregg Grost. “Consideration was given to head-to-head fall results from this season, various national rankings and strength of schedules.”

Additionally, conference affiliations were taken into consideration by the committee to avoid early round intra-conference match-ups.

Invitations were extended to and accepted by the top 16 finishing teams at the 2002 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships. Aside from featuring the top 16 teams at the 2002 national tournament, the Collegiate Match Play Championship will showcase programs that have combined to win 19 national championships, including the last three (Oklahoma State, 2000; Florida, 2001; Minnesota, 2002).

Players expected to compete in the national match play tournament include U.S. Amateur Champion Ricky Barnes of Arizona, Ben Hogan Award and Jack Nicklaus Award winner D.J. Trahan of Clemson, NCAA Medalist Troy Matteson of Georgia Tech, Big 12 Player of the Year and U.S. Amateur runner-up Hunter Mahan of Oklahoma State, SEC Player of the Year Camilo Villegas of Florida, MAC Golfer of the Year Brad Heaven of Toledo, Independent Golfer of the Year Oliver Wilson of Augusta State, five participants in the 2002 Palmer Cup, the three members of the 2002 U.S. World Amateur team and a total of 20 PING All-Americans.

The format for the championship will be a modified double-elimination team match play tournament. Each school is guaranteed a minimum of two matches over a period of three days on the Dye Course in Myrtle Beach.