Search Shop
Gregg Jones to Represent USA

Gregg Jones to Represent USA

May 27, 2002

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Players representing the United States in the 2002 USA vs. Japan Collegiate Golf Championship were announced today by the Golf Coaches Association of America. Eight men and four women collegiate golfers from across the U.S. will compete against their counterparts from Japan, July 17-19 at The Glen Club in Glenview, Ill.

The 2002 U.S. team members are: Dustin Bray (North Carolina), Christi Cano (Oklahoma State), Bryan Clarke (West Florida), Clint Colbert (Savannah College of Art & Design), Danielle Downey (Auburn), Gregg Jones (Clemson), Kelli Kamimura (Washington), Brock Mackenzie (Washington), Kristy McPherson (South Carolina), Kris Mikkelson (Georgia Tech), Chris Nallen (Arizona) and Brandt Snedeker (Vanderbilt).

The eight men’s golfers are chosen by the GCAA, including one representative from Division II and one from Division III. The women’s team is selected by the National Golf Coaches Association.

The players will compete on the recently-opened Tom Fazio course in doubles medal matches in the first round, while the second and third rounds will consist of 12 singles medal matches. Each match is worth two points, with halved matches earning one point for each team.

Players representing the United States in previous USA vs. Japan Collegiate Golf Championships include Curtis Strange, Brad Faxon, Juli Inkster, Kathy Baker, Davis Love III, Steve Stricker, David Toms, Bob Tway, Scott Verplank and LPGA rookie sensation Natalie Gulbis.

The U.S. holds a 19-6 advantage in the event, which is coordinated annually by the Japan Student Golf Association. The 2002 matches mark only the fifth time a United States course has played host. Previous host courses include Pebble Beach Golf Links (1978, 1983, 1987) and The SCGA Members Club (2000).