Search Shop
Five Tigers Earn ACC Honors, Sheridan Named First Team All-ACC

Five Tigers Earn ACC Honors, Sheridan Named First Team All-ACC

CLEMSON, S.C. – Five women’s soccer players were honored by the ACC as announced by the conference on Thursday, including sophomore goalkeeper Kailen Sheridan who was named First Team All-ACC.  Catrina Atanda (Second Team), Gabby Byorth (Third Team), and Salma Anastasio and Shannon Horgan (All-Freshman) were also honored.

Sheridan is the first Clemson player to be named First Team All-Conference since Ashley Phillips in 2007. It is also the first time since 2007 that Clemson has had three players named to one of the three ACC teams in a season and the first time since 2004 that Clemson has had both three ACC selections and two All-Freshman selections.

Sheridan was named Third Team All-ACC and also named to the All-Freshman team last season. Through the 2014 regular season, Sheridan has 47 saves and 10 goals allowed in 17 games and almost 1500 minutes in goal. She also has seven solo shutouts, tied for third in the ACC. Her 10 goals allowed is the third fewest in the league and her .800 percentage is tied for fourth in the conference.

Sophomore midfielder Catrina Atanda was named Second Team All-ACC as voted on by the 14 coaches in the conference. She was also chosen as the College Sports Madness ACC women’s soccer player of the week this week for her performance in the 2-0 victory over NC State on Nov. 1.

Atanda leads the Tigers with nine goals and 20 points. Her 20 points puts her in a tie for ninth place in the ACC and her nine goals put her in a tie for sixth in the league. She has 11 points and five goals in 10 ACC contests this season, tied for 10th and tied for fourth in the ACC respectively.

Sophomore defender Gabby Byorth was named Third Team All-ACC, her first career ACC honor. Byorth was also honored last week as a Capital One Academic All-District selection.  The native of Dublin, Ohio has helped anchor the Clemson defense that has allowed just 10 goals on only 102 shot attempts. She has one goal and four assists so far in 2014.  

Freshmen Salma Anastasio and Shannon Horgan were chosen to the All-Freshman team. Horgan, a forward from Long Beach, N.Y., has two goals and six assists on the season. Her six assists, all coming in two games, put her in a tie for eighth in the ACC. Anastasio, a forward from Trumbull, Conn., has five goals and three assists for 13 points, second on the team behind only Atanda.

The Tigers finished the regular season 13-3-2 overall and 6-3-1 in the ACC. Clemson will now await word about an NCAA bid. The selection show is scheduled for Monday, Nov. 10 and the first round of the NCAA tournament is Nov. 14-16. 

Here is a complete list of the 2014 All-ACC Women’s Soccer Teams:

Coach of the Year: Mark Krikorian, Florida State Offensive Player of the Year: Dagny Brynjarsdottir, Sr., M, Florida StateMidfielder of the Year: Danielle Colaprico, Sr., M, VirginiaDefensive Player of the Year: Kristin Grubka, Sr., D, Florida StateFreshman of the Year: Megan Buckingham, Fr., F, North Carolina

FIRST TEAMStephanie McCaffrey, Sr., F, Boston CollegeKailen Sheridan, So., GK, ClemsonDagny Brynjarsdottir, Sr., M, Florida State Kristin Grubka, Sr., D, Florida State Katie Bowen, Jr., D, North Carolina Satara Murray, Sr., D, North Carolina Cari Roccaro, Jr., M, Notre Dame Morgan Brian, Sr., M, Virginia Danielle Colaprico, Sr., M, Virginia Makenzy Doniak, Jr., F, Virginia Murielle Tiernan, So., F, Virginia Tech

SECOND TEAM Hayley Dowd, So., F, Boston CollegeCatrina Atanda, So., M, Clemson Christina Gibbons, So., M, Duke Toni Payne, So., M, DukeJamia Fields, Sr., M, Florida StateCassie Miller, Fr., GK, Florida State Joanna Boyles, So., M, North Carolina Morgan Andrews, So., M, Notre Dame Katie Naughton, Jr., D, Notre Dame Emily Sonnett, Jr., D, Virginia Ashley Meier, Jr., M, Virginia Tech

THIRD TEAMGabby Byorth, So., D, ClemsonIsabella Schmid, Jr., M, Florida StateBerglind Thorvaldsdottir, So., F, Florida StateEmily Bruder, So., F, North CarolinaMegan Buckingham, Fr., F, North CarolinaLauren Bohaboy, Sr., F, Notre DameKaela Little, So., GK, Notre DameBrittany Ratcliffe, Jr., F, VirginiaCandace Cephers, So., M, Virginia TechJordan Coburn, Jr., D, Virginia TechShannon Mayrose, GS, F, Virginia Tech

ALL-FRESHMAN TEAMAllyson Swabby, Fr., D, Boston CollegeSalma Anastasio, Fr., F, ClemsonShannon Horgan, Fr., F, Clemson Ashton Miller, Fr., M, Duke Imani Dorsey, Fr., F, DukeEmma Koivisto, Fr., D, Florida State Megan Buckingham, Fr., F, North Carolina Jessie Scarpa, Fr., D, North Carolina Sabrina Flores, Fr., D, Notre Dame Courtney Brosnan, Fr., GK, Syracuse Madi Conyers, Fr., M, Virginia Tech