Search Shop
Clemson receives NCAA Tournament Bid

Clemson receives NCAA Tournament Bid

Nov. 14, 2005

CLEMSON, SC– Clemson was chosen to participate in the 2005 NCAA Men’s Soccer Championship as announced by the NCAA Men’s Soccer Committee Monday afternoon.

Clemson will play host to Coastal Carolina at Historic Riggs Field on Friday (November 18) at 5:00 p.m. in the first round. The winner of this match will play at 14th-seeded N.C. State on Tuesday, November 22 in Raleigh, NC.

Clemson has a 11-5-3 record overall and has a 6-2-1 record in the last nine matches, including wins over fifth-ranked Duke and eighth-ranked Virginia. Clemson advanced to the semifinals of the ACC Tournament this past weekend.

Clemson is led in scoring by Dane Richards with eight goals and eight assists for 24 points. Mark Buchholz has five goals and two assists for 12 points. Bryson Moore has four goals and three assist for 11 points.

The 2005 tournament will be the 25th appearance for the Tigers in the NCAA Tournament. Clemson boasts a 42-23 overall record in the NCAA Tournament and ranks fourth nationally in terms of tournament wins. Over the last eight seasons, Clemson has made five trips to the Round of 16 and four trips to the Final Eight.

Under Head Coach Trevor Adair, the Tigers have a 10-7 record in NCAA play. He now has taken Clemson to eight NCAA Tournaments in his 11 years at Clemson. He has also taken the Tigers to the NCAA Final 16 six times and the NCAA Final Eight four times. The Tigers have been seeded three times under Adair, (first, 1998; second, 2000; fifth, 2001).

Tickets can be purchased in advance at the Clemson ticket office and will also be available at the Riggs Field gates on game day. They will be $7 for adults, and $3 for students.

“I am happy and delighted for the chance to play in the NCAA Tournament and compete for the National Championship,” said Clemson Head Coach Trevor Adair. “I am happy for our players and I think they deserve a bid. We had a great strength of schedule and this will help us in the tournament. We have a lot of respect for Coastal Carolina, and they had a great season winning their conference.”


NCAA Final 16–(20) 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1984, 1985, 1987, 1993, 1995, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2001, 2002

NCAA Final 8–(11) 1973, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1984, 1987, 1997, 1998, 2001, 2002

NCAA Final 4–(6) 1973, 1976, 1978, 1979, 1984, 1987

Championship Game Appearances–1979, 1984, 1987

National Champions–1984, 1987