Search Shop

Women’s Swimming Wins Nike Cup, Men Place Second

November 23, 1998

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. – The Clemson women’s swimming team, ranked 25th nationally, won the Nike Cup competition last weekend in Chapel Hill. The Tigers scored 1047.5 points, defeating 16th-ranked North Carolina, 19th-ranked Kentucky and 24th-ranked Louisiana State.

Freshman Cami Sink, from Charleston, SC, established three new Clemson records at the meet. Her time of 4:15.33 in the 400 IM was five seconds faster than the previous record of 4:20.47, set by Paulette Russell. In the 200 breaststroke, Sink swam a time of 2:17.89. Russell also held the previous record at 2:18.02. Sink swam a time of 2:01.05 in the 200 IM, breaking Jill Bakehorn’s previous time of 2:02.11.

All three times are NCAA Qualifying times, with the 400 IM time qualifying Sink automatically for the championship meet. Both the 200 breaststroke and 200 IM times are NCAA provisional qualifying cuts.

Seven other Clemson swimmers earned NCAA provisional qualifying cuts at the meet. Junior Jennifer Mihalik, a 1998 All-American, swam qualifying times in the 50 freestyle (23.43), 100 backstroke (1:59.31) and 200 backstroke (2:00.09). Senior Wendy Henson, an all-ACC performer each of the last three seasons, qualified provisionally in the 200 freestyle (1:49.35) and the 500 freestyle (4:49.28).

Senior Kathy Lowry swam qualifying times in the 50 freestyle (23.35) and the 100 butterfly (56.01), while freshman Katie Mizell also qualified in two events, the 100 butterfly (55.99) and 200 butterfly (2:02.45). Junior Erin Schatz, a 1998 All-American, qualified with a time of 4:53.81 in the 500 freestyle.

Senior Lisa Bartlett recorded a provisional qualifying time in the 400 IM (4:25.05), and senior Amy Suppinger qualified provisionally in the 100 butterfly (56.03). Henson, Mihalik, junior Meagan Davis and Lowry were members of the 400 freestyle relay team that qualified provisionally with a time of 3:23.75.

In the men’s meet, Clemson placed second with 500 points. North Carolina, ranked 22nd nationally, won the competition. The Tigers defeated 19th-ranked Louisiana State and 25th-ranked Kansas, who finished third and fourth, respectively.