Search Shop
Women’s Cross Country Headed to ACC Championships This Weekend

Women’s Cross Country Headed to ACC Championships This Weekend

Oct. 25, 2007

Clemson Women’s Cross Country NotesDownload Free Acrobat Reader

Clemson, SC – The women’s cross country team is set for the 30th annual ACC Championships this weekend. The 6K race will be held at the Panorama Farms course outside of Charlottesville, VA. The women’s competition is scheduled for Saturday at 11:00 AM.

Panorama Farms served as the host site for last year’s cross country championships as well. The Lady Tigers hope to improve on an 11th-place finish from a year ago, and will do so with a young lineup. Five of the eight student-athletes on the travel roster are first-year freshmen.

Laura Laughlin and Sunday Ford are the veteran leaders of Clemson’s inexperienced group of harriers heading to Virginia this weekend. Laughlin was eighth last time out at the Furman Invitational, while Ford has consistently finished among Clemson’s top five at each meet. Laughlin was the team’s top finisher at the 2006 ACC Cross Country Championships.

Jenna Baker has been the team’s top finisher in three of the last four meets, and she sat out the Furman Invitational due to soreness in her foot. She is 100 percent for this meet and has a pair of fourth-place individual finishes this season to her credit.

Abby Iselborn is coming off a ninth-place showing at Furman, where she helped the Lady Tigers to a runner-up finish in the team standings. Iselborn has improved her time in every meet, culminating with an 18:33 figure at the last two meets.

Stephanie Buffo has scored in each of the last three meets for Clemson, including a seventh-place finish at the ECU Pirate Invitational on September 29. Other first-year performers heading to the conference championships this weekend are Joanie Castagno, a Delaware native, and Jill Yandle, who hails from Charlotte, NC.

Lisa Brown, a consistent performer coming off a personal best 5K time at Furman, also will travel for Marcia Noad and Gordon Thomson’s cross country team.

Clemson has one team championship in cross country, the 1986 meet. Ute Jamrozy won the individual crown at that meet to lead Wayne Coffman’s squad to victory. Anne Evans also won an individual title for Clemson in 1990. Clemson has eight runner-up finishes at the ACC Cross Country Championships in the 29-year history of the meet.