USA Baseball Announcement of Golden Spikes Winner to Air on Five Cable Networks

USA Baseball Announcement of Golden Spikes Winner to Air on Five Cable Networks

July 8, 2002

Tucson, AZ – USA Baseball will announce the winner of the 2002 Golden Spikes Award – amateur baseball’s most prestigious honor – tomorrow, Tuesday, July 9, during the premier broadcast of the 25th Anniversary Golden Spikes Award show. The broadcast – produced in coordination with the Major League Baseball Players Association – will also announce the 11 former Golden Spikes winners named to the 25th Anniversary Golden Spikes Award Team, and will also highlight some of the various youth baseball programs presented by USA Baseball and the MLBPA.

A total of five regional cable sports networks will be airing the show, each covering a region of the country from which the five Golden Spikes Award finalists are from:

3:00 PM EST – FOX Sports New England 3:30 PM EST – FOX Sports South 3:30 PM EST – Madison Square Garden Network 3:30 PM CST – FOX Sports Chicago 3:00 PM PST – FOX Sports Bay Area (Also check your local listings)

The TV special was produced by TeamWorks Media, a Chicago-based multimedia production company specializing in original television programming, video production, web design, and CD-ROM development. The show is hosted by George Grande – longtime TV play-by-play voice of the Cincinnati Reds, and the emcee of the annual Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies in Cooperstown, NY.

“USA Baseball is thankful to be working with the Major League Baseball Players Association on the 25th Anniversary of the Golden Spikes Award, and we are extremely pleased to be able to bring the announcement of this year’s winner to a television audience,” said Paul Seiler, USA Baseball Executive Director / CEO.

Underscoring their shared interest and commitment to support the development of baseball from the grassroots level, the Major League Baseball Players Association is the title sponsor of USA Baseball’s Golden Spikes Award and provides support for USA Baseball’s youth baseball programs.

The five finalists for the 2002 Golden Spikes Award are:

Russ Adams – North Carolina – IF – Junior Leadoff man is leading the 13th ranked Tar Heels (39-17) by batting .373 with 51 RBI & 44 stolen bases. 3rd ever finalist from North Carolina (B.J. Surhoff ’85, Scott Bankhead ’84)

Jeff Baker – Clemson – IF – Junior 4-time member of a USA Baseball Team (’97, ’99, ’00, ’01), and all-time Clemson HR record-holder. First pair of teammates (w/Greene) to be finalists in same year since 1997 (Lance Berkman & Matt Anderson – Rice). 3rd/4th ever finalists from Clemson (Kris Benson ’96, Shane Monahan ’95).

Bobby Brownlie – Rutgers – RHP – Junior Led Team USA last summer with a 7-0 record, 0.84 ERA & has posted five complete games this year for the Scarlet Knights (32-20). First ever finalist from Rutgers.

Khalil Greene – Clemson – IF – Senior All-time ACC career leader in hits and doubles for the #1 ranked Tigers. First pair of teammates (w/Baker) to be finalists in same year since 1997 (Lance Berkman & Matt Anderson – Rice). 3rd/4th ever finalist from Clemson (Kris Benson ’96, Shane Monahan ’95).

Jeremy Guthrie – Stanford – RHP – Junior Ace of the Cardinal staff has gone 9-1 with a 2.68 ERA in 15 starts. 9th ever finalist from Stanford (Justin Wayne ’00, Jeff Austin ’98, A.J. Hinch ’96, Jeffrey Hammonds ’92, David McCarty ’91, Ed Sprague ’88, Jack McDowell ’87, Tom Verducci ’84). Stanford has the most previous finalists (8), of any school that has never won the Award.

For the past 24 years, USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseball player in the country with the Golden Spikes Award. Following the first ever presentation of the Award to Bob Horner of Arizona State in 1978, the Golden Spikes Award has been presented each year to the player who exhibits exceptional athletic ability and exemplary sportsmanship. The 2001 Golden Spikes Award winner was Mark Prior of the University of Southern California.

Past winners of this prestigious award include current Major League Baseball stars such as Pat Burrell (’98), J.D. Drew (’97), Travis Lee (’96), Mark Kotsay (’95), Jason Varitek (’94), Darren Dreifort (’93), Phil Nevin (’92) and Robin Ventura (’88). Former Major League stars that have captured the award include Alex Fernandez (’90), Ben McDonald (’89), Jim Abbott (’87), Will Clark (’85), Dave Magadan (’83), Terry Francona (’80), Tim Wallach (’79), and Bob Horner (’78).

18 different schools have captured the Golden Field Award – given to the Athletic Department and Head Coach of the Golden Spikes Award winner – including three colleges that have won the Award a record three times (Arizona State, Cal State Fullerton, Florida State). The University of Miami-FL, has had ten players named finalists – the most of any school in America – with one winner (Burrell ’98).

The MLBPA is the collective bargaining representative for all professional baseball players of the National League and the American League and serves as the exclusive group licensing agent for commercial and licensing activities involving active Major League Baseball Players. On behalf of its members, it operates the Players Choice licensing program and Players Choice Awards events, which benefit children through the Major League Baseball Players Trust for Children, a charitable foundation established and run entirely by Major League Baseball Players.

USA Baseball is the National Governing Body of amateur baseball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. The organization selects and trains the USA Baseball Olympic Team, the USA Baseball National Team, the USA Baseball Junior National team (18-under), and the USA Baseball Youth National Team (16-under) which participate in various international competitions each year.

Past Golden Spikes Award Winners Year – GSA Recipient – School 2001 Mark Prior – Southern California 2000 Kip Bouknight – South Carolina 1999 Jason Jennings – Baylor 1998 Pat Burrell – Miami 1997 J.D. Drew – Florida State 1996 Travis Lee – San Diego State 1995 Mark Kotsay – Cal State Fullerton 1994 Jason Varitek – Georgia Tech 1993 Darren Dreifort – Wichita State 1992 Phil Nevin – Cal State Fullerton 1991 Mike Kelly – Arizona State 1990 Alex Fernandez – Miami-Dade South 1989 Ben McDonald – Louisiana State 1988 Robin Ventura – Oklahoma State 1987 Jim Abbott – Michigan 1986 Mike Loynd – Florida State 1985 Will Clark – Mississippi State 1984 Oddibe McDowell – Arizona State 1983 Dave Magadan – Alabama 1982 Augie Schmidt – New Orleans 1981 Mike Fuentes – Florida State 1980 Terry Francona – Arizona 1979 Tim Wallach – Cal State Fullerton 1978 Bob Horner – Arizona State