Two Tigers Named to ACC 50th Anniversary Basketball Team

Two Tigers Named to ACC 50th Anniversary Basketball Team

Sept. 26, 2002

GREENSBORO, N.C. — The Atlantic Coast Conference 50th Anniversary Basketball Team was announced today by Commissioner John Swofford. The 50-member team was voted on by a 120-member blue-ribbon committee that was selected by the league’s 50th Anniversary Committee.

North Carolina led all league schools with 12 members on the Golden Anniversary team while Duke was second with 11 honorees. Maryland had eight players selected, followed by Wake Forest (5), Georgia Tech and NC State (4), Virginia (3), Clemson (2) and South Carolina with one. The 50th Anniversary team includes:

17 players who earned National Player of the Year honors atotal of 22 times. 27 players who earned consensus 1st teamAll-America honors a total of 38 times. 18 players who werethree-time first-team All-ACC selections. 48 players were firstround selections in either the annual NBA or ABA draft, including 9players who were the first overall selection in that year’s draft.7 players who earned Academic All-American honors. ClemsonSelections:

Horace Grant, Clemson (1984-1987) ACC Player of the Year, Clemson’s only ACC Player of the Year ever in basketball in 1986-87 … The ACC’s first “Triple Crown” winner, he led the ACC in scoring, field goal percentage and rebounding in 1986-87 (Tim Duncan is the only other ACC player in history to do that) … Shot 65.6 percent from the field, third best in ACC history for a season and third in the nation in 1986-87 when he led the Tigers to a school record 24 wins … First Clemson player to average over 20 points per game since Butch Zatezalo in 1969-70 … Second-team All-American by AP, UPI and Sporting News his senior year, just the second Clemson player in history to be a second-team All-American … Veteran of 14 years in the NBA, he has won three World Championship Rings … first-round draft choice in 1987…still playing with the Orlando Magic

Wayne “Tree” Rollins, Clemson (1974-1977) Third-team All-American for Clemson in 1976-77 according to Associated Press … Three-time second-team All-ACC selection … Clemson’s career rebounding leader with 1311, he is fourth in ACC history … Second ranked in ACC history in blocked shots with 450, first on a per game basis … Only Clemson player to average a double-double four straight seasons … Played 18 years in the NBA…now the head coach of the Greenville Groove of the NBA Development League.

The ACC’s 50th Anniversary Basketball team, in alphabetical order, is as follows:

Kenny Anderson Georgia Tech 1990-1991 Rego Park, N.Y.
Shane Battier Duke 1998-2001 Birmingham, Mich.
Len Bias Maryland 1983-1986 Landover, Md.
Elton Brand Duke 1998-1999 Peekskill, N.Y.
Tom Burleson NC State 1971-1974 Newland, N.C.
Len Chappell Wake Forest 1960-1962 Portage, Pa.
Randolph Childress Wake Forest 1991, 1993-1995 Clinton, Md.
Billy Cunningham North Carolina 1963-1965 Brooklyn, N.Y.
Brad Daugherty North Carolina 1983-1986 Black Mountain, N.C.
Charlie Davis Wake Forest 1969-1971 New York, N.Y.
Walter Davis North Carolina 1974-1977 Pineville, N.C.
Johnny Dawkins Duke 1983-1986 Washington, D.C.
Juan Dixon Maryland 1999-2002 Baltimore, Md.
Tim Duncan Wake Forest 1994-1997 St. Croix, Virgin Islands
Len Elmore Maryland 1972-1974 Springfield Gardens, N.Y.
Danny Ferry Duke 1986-1989 Bowie, Md.
Phil Ford North Carolina 1975-1978 Rocky Mount, N.C.
Mike Gminski Duke 1977-1980 Monroe, Conn.
Horace Grant Clemson 1984-1987 Sparta, Ga.
Matt Harpring Georgia Tech 1995-1998 Dunwoody, Ga.
Dickie Hemric Wake Forest 1952-1955 Jonesville, N.C.
Art Heyman Duke 1961-1963 Rockville Center, N.Y.
Grant Hill Duke 1991-1994 Reston, Va.
Bobby Hurley Duke 1990-1993 Jersey City, N.J.
Antawn Jamison North Carolina 1996-1998 Charlotte, N.C.
Bobby Jones North Carolina 1972-1974 Charlotte, N.C.
Michael Jordan North Carolina 1982-1984 Wilmington, N.C.
Albert King Maryland 1978-1981 Brooklyn, N.Y.
Christian Laettner Duke 1989-1992 Angola, N.Y.
Jeff Lamp Virginia 1978-1981 Louisville, Ky.
John Lucas Maryland 1973-1976 Durham, N.C.
Tom McMillen Maryland 1972-1974 Mansfield, Pa.
Larry Miller North Carolina 1966-1968 Catasauqua, Pa.
Rodney Monroe NC State 1988-1991 Hagerstown, Md.
Jeff Mullins Duke 1962-1964 Lexington, Ky.
Barry Parkhill Virginia 1971-1973 State College, Pa.
Sam Perkins North Carolina 1981-1984 Latham, N.Y.
Mark Price Georgia Tech 1983-1986 Enid, Okla.
John Roche South Carolina 1969-1971 The Bronx, N.Y.
Wayne “Tree” Rollins Clemson 1974-1977 Cordele, Ga.
Lennie Rosenbluth North Carolina 1954-1957 New York, N.Y.
Ralph Sampson Virginia 1980-1983 Harrisonburg, Va.
Charles Scott North Carolina 1968-1970 New York, N.Y.
Dennis Scott Georgia Tech 1988-1990 Reston, Va.
Ron Shavlik NC State 1954-1956 Denver, Colo.
Joe Smith Maryland 1994-1995 Norfolk, Va.
David Thompson NC State 1973-1975 Shelby, N.C.
Buck Williams Maryland 1979-1981 Rocky Mount, N.C.
Jason Williams Duke 2000-2002 Plainfield, N.J.
James Worthy North Carolina 1980-1982 Gastonia, N.C.