Search Shop
Track & Field Awards Banquet Held on Wednesday

Track & Field Awards Banquet Held on Wednesday

Oct. 21, 2010

Photo Gallery

CLEMSON, SC – The Clemson track & field program held its 2010 awards banquet Wednesday evening at the Madren Center. Athletic department officials and members of the coaching staff presented awards to the top student-athletes in the program for the 2009-10 season.

The event featured keynote speaker James Trapp, a 10-time All-American in track for the Tigers from 1990-92. He was an NCAA 200 meter champion as well as a 1992 Olympian for the United States. Trapp was also a standout defensive back at Clemson and went on to play 11 seasons in the NFL.

Clemson’s All-Americans, academic honorees and ACC award winners that were previously announced by another organization were recognized Wednesday. Included in the list was NCAA triple jump champion Patricia Mamona and first-team ESPN the Magazine Academic All-American Liane Weber. ACC Freshmen of the Year Brianna Rollins and Stormy Kendrick, as well as Sportsmanship Award winner Stephanie Buffo, were honored. The team also recognized Lawrence Johnson for his ACC Indoor & Outdoor Coach of the Year awards.

In addition to all previously announced awards, the team recognized its most valuable performers and coaches award winners (given to athletes that went above and beyond for the good of the team) based on voting by full-time staff members.

Chris Slate and Kim Ruck were named MVPs for cross country. For indoor track & field, Miller Moss was the men’s team MVP while Rollins and April Sinkler shared co-MVP honors on the women’s side. For outdoor track & field, Spencer Adams was voted men’s team MVP while national champion Mamona took the honor for the women’s team.

Also on Wednesday, the team recognized strength & conditioning award winners as well as Barbara Kennedy-Dixon “Invictus” Award winner Stormy Kendrick. The strength & conditioning award recipients were Jasen Turnbull (men’s cross country), Buffo (women’s cross country), Moss (men’s track & field) and Michaylin Golladay (women’s track & field).

For the complete list of award winners, click on the PDF link below. Photos from the event are also available.

Complete List of 2010 Award Winners