Search Shop
Jul 16, 2020

Tigers Earn 11 USTFCCCA All-Academic Honors

NEW ORLEANS – Nine members of the Clemson Track & Field program were named All-Academic Athletes on Thursday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA). Additionally, the men’s and women’s teams were awarded All-Academic Team honors by the Association.

USTFCCCA All-Academic distinction is awarded to student-athletes who have a cumulative GPA above 3.25 and are ranked within the top 96 in any championship individual event, or in the top 48 in any championship relay event for the most recent season of competition according to TFRRS. Team honors are awarded to programs whose members have combined to earn a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or higher.

The six women who have earned All-Academic distinction are Laurie Barton, Veronica Fraley, Caroline Johnston, Logan Morris, Rebekah Smith and Harleigh White. All six women were named to the 2019-2020 ACC Academic Honor Roll, while Barton, Fraley and Smith received All-ACC Academic honors following the 2020 indoor season. Barton and Smith earned All-American honors after qualifying for the 2020 NCAA Indoor Track & Field National Championships in the 800 meters and 60 meters, respectively.

This is the second time earning USTFCCCA All-Academic honors for Fraley and White, as both earned the honor for the first time in 2019. This is the fourth time that Morris has earned the distinction in track & field.

On the men’s side, Devon Brooks, LaFranz Campbell and Grant Voeks earned All-Academic honors following excellent seasons in the classroom and on the track. The trio of student-athletes earned All-ACC Academic Team honors following the indoor season and were named to the 2019-2020 ACC Academic Honor Roll. Brooks and Campbell earned All-American honors after finishing the season ranked No. 11 and No. 12 in the country, respectively, for the men’s 60-meter hurdles. This is the first time each student-athlete has received the academic honor from the USTFCCCA.

The All-Academic honor for the women’s team makes it the third time in four years that the program has earned the award.

The full release by the USTFCCCA can be found here.